• Home
  • Policies
  • PTO
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News


Welcome to the Ruth Clark Website!


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.


November 2015


Newsletter Archives


Health & Wellness Newsletters


Hope Health - Oct 2015


Live Well Work Well - Oct 2015

News Highlights

Fun Run, A Success!


PTO Family Movie Night


Picture Retakes


Thanksgiving Break






Kansans Can - Kansas State Department of Education

Upcoming Events



How We Do It




Parent/Student Handbook


School Facts


School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM


AM Pre-K:
8:25 AM - 11:25 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:50 PM - 3:50 PM




Pre-K - 5


Enrollment: 350


Staff: 51


School Colors:

Blue & Gold





School Hours

A reminder that school hours are from 8:25 AM - 3:50 PM. There is no adult supervision available for students until 8:00 AM unless you participate in Latchkey services. Pre-K meets daily. AM classes are from 8:25 AM - 11:25 AM and PM classes are from 12:50 PM - 3:50 PM.

Thank you for your cooperation on these matters.


Monday Folders

Students at Ruth Clark will have Monday folders in which they will bring home important papers and any paperwork that needs to be signed. Please be sure to check the student’s backpack each day, but especially on Monday and return the folder on Tuesday.


School Safety

To ensure the safety of our school children, everyone must sign in at the office and get a visitor’s pass.

School hours are 8:25 a.m. – 3:50 p.m.

Because there is no supervision for students, unless your child is enrolled in latchkey, they are not to be in the building before 8:00 a.m.

If you bring your student to school, please park in the marked parking spaces. The circle drive is for buses only! If you are waiting for your child at the end of the school day, please wait at the front entrance for them.


Family Rights and Privacy Act

USD 261 will be releasing information and photos to the media throughout the coming school year of various activities and rograms. Under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, disclosure without prior consent is permitted by law, including the following directory information: name, address, telephone number, and photographs. You have the right to refuse to permit the release of any or all of the above information. If you refuse, you must give
written notification to this effect to the Superintendent of Schools for USD261, 1745 West Grand, Haysville, KS 67060 on or before September 15, 2015. If refusal is not filed, USD261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the information designated or photos.





Be an involved Parent... Join P.T.O.


What PTO Does For Our School

We purchase playground equipment, sponsor Swim Parties and Book Fairs, Help with Red Ribbon Week, Fundraisers, Field Trips, Pastries for Parents, Popcorn Parties, Snow Cone Parties, Box Tops For Education, Yearbook and Field Day.


PTO Meetings are held the last Tuesday of the Month @ 7:00 PM in Teacher's Lounge

Meeting dates for 2015-2016 School Year: Sept 29, Oct 27, Nov 24, Dec (No Meeting), Jan 26, Feb 23, Mar 29, and April 26.


Follow Us On Facebook

Search Ruth Clark PTO to find our page.



2015-2016 Officers:


Rachel Thomas

Vice President:

Kristi Gutierrez


KD Keim


Danella Hardy

Principal Carla Wulf

Contact PTO Officers at rcpto@usd261.com



Ruth Clark Elementary Merchandise

Show your school spirit by purchasing t-shirts, lanyards and Sonic cards.  Print an order form here or pick one up in the office.


"Let's Go Roller Skating" Ruth Clark Skate Party

You're invited to attend a skate party for our school.

Where: Roller City, 3234 S. Meridian

Time: 6:00 - 8:00 PM

When: Second Tuesday of each month

Sept. 8, Oct. 13, Nov. 10, Dec. 8, Jan. 12, Feb. 9, Mar. 8, Apr. 12 & May 10.




We collect Box Tops for Education and Campbell's Soup Label. 


Homeland Food Gives Back To Ruth Clark

Don’t forget to sign up at Homeland grocery in Haysville, for the school to get a percentage of what we spend there.

Ruth Clark Elementary’s ID number is 64016.


Volunteer Forms

If you haven't filled out a volunteer form and would like to go on field trips with students, please pick up a volunteer form and fill it out.







Staff 2012-2013



Name Position E-mail
Carla Wulf Principal cawulf@usd261.com
Cathy Michael Counselor cmichael@usd261.com
Angie Howard Psychologist ahoward@usd261.com
Kelley Keais Secretary kkeais@usd261.com
Linda Sexton Secretary lsexton@usd261.com
Janie Sowell Secretary jsowell@usd261.com
Gari VanEs, MA Health Clerk gvanes@usd261.com


Mandi Bennett Pre-K mbennett@usd261.com
Kristin Hauser Pre-K khauser@usd261.com
Neysa Forsythe Kindergarten nforsyth@usd261.com
Kayla Nelson Kindergarten kanelson@usd261.com
Lesley Thomas Kindergarten lthomas@usd261.com
Amy Driskill 1st Grade adriskil@usd261.com
Caleb McCaffree 1st Grade cmccaffree@usd261.com
Keith Schmanke
view website 1st Grade


Heidi Mead 2nd Grade hmead@usd261.com
Ashley White 2nd Grade aswhite@usd261.com
Shauna Black 3rd Grade sblack@usd261.com
Mandy Faust 3rd Grade mfaust@usd261.com
Windy Wellner 4th Grade wwellner@usd261.com
Kathy Schaller 4th Grade schaller@usd261.com
Laurie Leeper 5th Grade lleeper@usd261.com
Terri Shahan 5th Grade tshahan@usd261.com
Steve Miller P.E. smiller@usd261.com
Ronda Clark Music rclark@usd261.com
Danny Driskill Technology ddriskil@usd261.com
Sally Holliday Gifted sholiday@usd261.com
Lisa Kreutzer SPED lkreutze@usd261.com
Christina Davenport SPED cclemencich@usd261.com
Shenae Stein Learning Facilitator sstein@usd261.com
Marguerite Hutchens Speech mhutchen@usd261.com
Melinda Wren ESOL mjmwren@usd261.com
Sandra Belden Media Specialist sbelden@usd261.com

Emily Cox

view website Band ecox@usd261.com
Laurien Taton view website Orchestra ltaton@usd261.com

Support Staff

Michele Barker Reg Ed Para mbarker@usd261.com
Sandra Bayouth SPED Para sbayouth@usd261.com
Linda Bowman Title 1 Para lbowman@usd261.com
Diana Denning SPED Para ddenning@usd261.com
Kristie Eberl ESOL Para keberl@usd261.com
Mary Gregory Kitchen Manager mgregory@usd261.com
Denise Hays Pre-K Para dhays@usd261.com
Jyntre Hephner Reg Ed Para jhephner@usd261.com
Lucille Huglely Pre-K Para lhuglely@usd261.com
Sandra Johnson SPED Para sjohnson@usd261.com
Heather Nichols Reg Ed Para hnichols@usd261.com
LaTasha Riegle SPED Para lriegle@usd261.com
Veda Velaska SPED Para velaska@usd261.com
Star Smith SPED Para ssmith@usd261.com
Jana Hardy Library Clerk jhardy@usd261.com
Mike Bohanan Day Custodian mbohanan@usd261.com
Judy Long Custodian  
Wayne McClure Custodian wmcclure@usd261.com





Contact Us


Oatville Elementary


In the Office:


Mrs. Carla Wulf, Principal

email: cawulf@usd261.com

Kelley Keais, Secretary
e-mail: kkeais@usd261.com

Linda Sexton, Secretary
e-mail: lsexton@usd261.com


Janie Sowell, Secretary

email: jsowell@usd261.com


Health Room

Gari VanEs

email: gvanes@usd261.com


Office Hours:


Monday - Friday

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Ruth Clark Elementary School

1900 W. 55th St. So.

Wichita, KS 67217


Telephone: 316-554-2333

Fax: 316-554-2340

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060


Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230


Office Hours: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM





Student Links


Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Library Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library







Welcome to Ruth Clark Elementary! 

Read the monthly Newsletter for all the news and events.


'Fun Run", A Success!

The Ruth Clark Elementary ‘FUN RUN’ was wonderful!  The students had a great time and practiced every day during ‘noon fitness’.  The ‘FUN RUN’ was a fundraiser for a former counselor and friend of our school district, Julie Dombo. The fundraiser netted a total of $494.99. Thank you to everyone who participated in this event. Special thanks to our noon fitness instructors, Mr. Miller, Ms. Belden, Mrs. Clark, Mrs. Michael, and Mr. Driskill for making this event successful.


Ruth Clark Elementary Merchandise

Show your school spirit by purchasing t-shirts, lanyards and Sonic cards.  Print an order form here or pick one up in the office.


November No School Dates

November 11: In honor of Veteran's Day

November 25-27: Thanksgiving Day


Family Movie Night - November 6

PTO Family movie night will be from 5:00 - 8:00 PM. There will be food in the cafeteria at 5:00 and the movie begins at 6:00 PM.


Picture Retakes - November 18

If your child was absent on October 20 he/she will have pictures taken this day.  The photographers will be here until approximately 9:30am.


Sonic Night - 47th & Seneca Location - November 18

Have dinner out between 5 PM and 8 PM and support our school at the same time. Mention Ruth Clark when ordering and a percentage of the sales will be donated to the school.


TAPS Program

TAPS (Teaching Assessment Preparation Skills) is for 3-5 grade students who may need extra help in specific skill areas. TAPS meets Monday - Thursday (no Fridays) from September 14 through March, from 3:45 - 4:45 PM. Weeks that the students don't go to school a full week, there will be no TAPS.Transportation will return TAPS students to their home if they live within the Ruth Clark boundary.   If you have any questions about TAPS, please visit with your childs classroom teacher.


Hearing and Vision Screenings

All students will have their vision and hearing screened during the school year. The screening will be provided at your child's school and will be at no charge. Should you have any questions or concerns about the screening or would prefer that your child not be screened, you can contact the school or school nurse at 554-2333. Results of the screening will be sent home by the end of the school year and should a concern be identified at the time of testing, the school nurse will contact the parents.


Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here


Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT


School Hours

A reminder that school hours are from 8:25 AM - 3:50 PM. There is no adult supervision available for students until 8:05 AM unless you participate in Latchkey services. Thank you for your cooperation on these matters.











Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines


Oatville Archives


Box Tops For Education

Ruth Clark Elementary participates in the Boxtops for Education Program. Bring your boxtops and labels to the school office. PTO earns 10 cents for each box top.

Boxtops for Education