• Home
  • Policies
  • PTO
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

 

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

October 2014

 

Newsletter Archives

 

News Highlights


Parent/Teacher Conferences

 

No School

 

Scholastic Book Fair

 

 

 

 

 

 

Upcoming Events


 


 

How We Do It


Policies

 

Elementary

Parent/Student Handbook

 

School Facts

 

School Hours:

8:20 AM - 3:45 PM

 

AM Pre-K:
8:20 AM - 11:20 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:45 PM - 3:45 PM

 

 

Grades:

Pre-K - 5

 

Enrollment: 421

 

Staff: 51

 

School Colors:

Blue & Gold

 

Mascot:

Jaguar

 

School Hours

A reminder that school hours are from 8:20 AM - 3:45 PM. There is no adult supervision available for students until 7:55 AM unless you participate in Latchkey services. Pre-K meets daily. AM classes are from 8:20 AM - 11:20 AM and PM classes are from 12:45 PM - 3:45 PM.

Thank you for your cooperation on these matters.

 

Monday Folders

Students at Ruth Clark will have Monday folders in which they will bring home important papers and any paperwork that needs to be signed. Please be sure to check the student’s backpack each day, but especially on Monday and return the folder on Tuesday.

 

School Safety

To ensure the safety of our school children, everyone must sign in at the office and get a visitor’s pass.

School hours are 8:20 a.m. – 3:45 p.m.

Because there is no supervision for students, unless your child is enrolled in latchkey, they are not to be in the building before 7:55 a.m.

If you bring your student to school, please park in the marked parking spaces. The circle drive is for buses only! If you are waiting for your child at the end of the school day, please wait at the front entrance for them.

 

Family Rights and Privacy Act

USD 261 will be releasing information and photos to the media throughout the coming school year of various activities and rograms. Under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, disclosure without prior consent is permitted by law, including the following directory information: name, address, telephone number, and photographs. You have the right to refuse to permit the release of any or all of the above information. If you refuse, you must give
written notification to this effect to the Superintendent of Schools for USD261, 1745 West Grand, Haysville, KS 67060 on or before September 15, 2012. If refusal is not filed, USD261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the information designated or photos.

 

 

 

PTA


Be an involved Parent... Join P.T.O.

 

What PTO Does For Our School

We purchase playground equipment, sponsor Swim Parties and Book Fairs, Help with Red Ribbon Week, Fundraisers, Field Trips, Pastries for Parents, Popcorn Parties, Snow Cone Parties, Box Tops For Education, Yearbook and Field Day.

 

PTO Meetings are held the last Tuesday of the Month @ 7:00 PM in Teacher's Lounge

Meeting dates for 2014-2015 School Year: August 26, September 30, October 28, November 25, December (No Meeting), January 27, February 24, March 31, and April 28.

 

Follow Us On Facebook

Search Ruth Clark PTO to find our page.

 

 

2014-2015 Officers:

President:

Rachel Thomas

Vice President:

Jessica LaFay

Secretary:

KD Keim

Treasurer:

Danella Hardy

Principal Carla Wulf

Contact PTO Officers at rpto@usd261.com

 

 

"Let's Go Roller Skating" Ruth Clark Skate Party

You're invited to attend a skate party for our school.

Where: Roller City, 3234 S. Meridian

Time: 6:00 - 8:00 PM

When: Second Tuesday of each month

Sept. 9, Oct. 14, Nov. 11, Dec. 9, Jan. 13, Feb. 10, Mar. 10, Apr. 14, & May 12.

 

Ruth Clark Elementary Merchandise

Show your school spirit by purchasing t-shirts, lanyards and Sonic cards.  Order forms are in the office.

 

We collect Box Tops for Education and Campbell's Soup Label. 

 

Homeland Food Gives Back To Ruth Clark

Don’t forget to sign up at Homeland grocery in Haysville, for the school to get a percentage of what we spend there.

Ruth Clark Elementary’s ID number is 64016.

 

Volunteer Forms

If you haven't filled out a volunteer form and would like to go on field trips with students, please pick up a volunteer form and fill it out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Staff 2012-2013


 

Administration

Name Position E-mail
Carla Wulf Principal cawulf@usd261.com
Tod Hawkins Counselor jhawkins@usd261.com
Jennifer Erickson Psychologist jerickson@usd261.com
Kelley Keais Secretary kkeais@usd261.com
Linda Sexton Secretary lsexton@usd261.com
Janie Sowell Secretary jsowell@usd261.com
  Health Clerk  

Teachers

Mandi Bennett Pre-K mbennett@usd261.com
Kristin Hauser Pre-K khauser@usd261.com
Neysa Forsythe Kindergarten nforsyth@usd261.com
Kayla Nelson Kindergarten kanelson@usd261.com
Lesley Thomas Kindergarten lthomas@usd261.com
Amy Driskill 1st Grade adriskil@usd261.com
Caleb McCaffree 1st Grade cmccaffree@usd261.com
Keith Schmanke
view website 1st Grade

kschmank@usd261.com

Shenae Stein 2nd Grade sstein@usd261.com
Ashley White 2nd Grade aswhite@usd261.com
Shauna Black 3rd Grade sblack@usd261.com
Mandy Faust 3rd Grade mfaust@usd261.com
Windy Wellner 3rd Grade wwellner@usd261.com
Laverne Miller 4th Grade lmiller@usd261.com
Kathy Schaller 4th Grade schaller@usd261.com
Laurie Leeper 5th Grade lleeper@usd261.com
Terri Shahan 5th Grade tshahan@usd261.com
Steve Miller P.E. smiller@usd261.com
Ronda Clark Music rclark@usd261.com
Danny Driskill Technology ddriskil@usd261.com
Sally Holliday Gifted sholiday@usd261.com
Lisa Kreutzer SPED lkreutze@usd261.com
Christina Davenport SPED cclemencich@usd261.com
Jennifer Reed Learning Facilitator jreed@usd261.com
Marguerite Hutchens Speech mhutchen@usd261.com
Melina Wren ESOL mjmwren@usd261.com
Sandra Belden Media Specialist sbelden@usd261.com

Emily Cox

view website Band ecox@usd261.com
Laurien Taton view website Orchestra ltaton@usd261.com

Support Staff

Michele Barker Reg Ed Para mbarker@usd261.com
Desarae Bolton Pre-K Para dbolton@usd261.com
Linda Bowman Title 1 Para lbowman@usd261.com
Diana Denning SPED Para ddenning@usd261.com
Kristie Eberl ESOL Para keberl@usd261.com
Mary Gregory Kitchen Manager mgregory@usd261.com
Jana Hardy SPED Para jhardy@usd261.com
Jyntre Hephner Reg Ed Para jhephner@usd261.com
Sandra Johnson SPED Para sjohnson@usd261.com
Heather Nichols Reg Ed Para hnichols@usd261.com
Connie VanDeren SPED Para cvandere@usd261.com
Star Smith SPED Para ssmith@usd261.com
Amy Stanley Library Clerk astanley@usd261.com
Connie VanDeren SPED Para cvandere@usd261.com
Ashtyn Waltrip Pre-K Para awaltrip@usd261.com
Mike Bohanan Day Custodian mbohanan@usd261.com
Judy Long Custodian  
Wayne McClure Custodian wmcclure@usd261.com

 

 

 

 

Contact Us


 

Oatville Elementary

 

In the Office:

 

Mrs. Carla Wulf, Principal

email: cawulf@usd261.com

Kelley Keais, Secretary
e-mail: kkeais@usd261.com


Linda Sexton, Secretary
e-mail: lsexton@usd261.com

 

Janie Sowell, Secretary

email: jsowell@usd261.com

 

Health Room

Traci McKelvey, MA

email: jtmckelvey@usd261.com

 

Office Hours:

 

Monday - Friday

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Ruth Clark Elementary School

1900 W. 55th St. So.

Wichita, KS 67217

 

Telephone: 316-554-2333

Fax: 316-554-2340

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Office Hours: 7:30 AM - 4:15 PM

 

 

 

 

Student Links


 

Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Blackboard Library Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

 

 

 

News


Welcome to Ruth Clark Elementary!  Read the monthly Newsletter for all the news and events.

 

October No School Dates

October 16:  Parent/Teacher Conferences

October 17:  Conference Release Day

 

Parent/Teacher Conferences - October 13-16

The first nine weeks concludes Friday, October 10.  Your child's teacher will schedule a Parent/Teacher Conference during the week of October 13-16. Please make this conference a top priority.  We believe communication is the key to a successful education.

 

Scholastic Book Fair " Enter the Kingdom of Books" - October 13-16

Support our Media Center, attend the Book Fair.  Hours are:

Monday and Wednesday: 4:00 - 7:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 3:45 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 12:30 PM

 

Fall Parties - October 31

The students will celebrate Fall with a costume parade and parties.  The parade will begin at 2:45 PM, the parties at 3:15 PM. 

 

TAPS Program Begins

TAPS (Teaching Assessment Preparation Skills) is for 3-5 grade students who may need extra help in specific skill areas. TAPS meets Monday - Thursday (no Fridays) from September 15 through March, from 3:45 - 4:45 PM. Weeks that the students don't go to school a full week, there will be no TAPS.Transportation will return TAPS students to their home if they live within the Ruth Clark boundary.   If you have any questions about TAPS, please visit with your childs classroom teacher.

 

Sonic Night - 47th & Seneca Location - TBA

Have dinner out between 5 PM and 8 PM and support our school at the same time. Mention Ruth Clark when ordering and a percentage of the sales will be donated to the school.

 

Hearing and Vision Screenings

All students will have their vision and hearing screened during the school year. The screening will be provided at your child's school and will be at no charge. Should you have any questions or concerns about the screening or would prefer that your child not be screened, you can contact the school or school nurse at 554-2333. Results of the screening will be sent home by the end of the school year and should a concern be identified at the time of testing, the school nurse will contact the parents.

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT

 

School Hours

A reminder that school hours are from 8:20 AM - 3:45 PM. There is no adult supervision available for students until 8:05 AM unless you participate in Latchkey services. Thank you for your cooperation on these matters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Volunteer

Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines

 

Oatville Archives

 

Box Tops For Education

Ruth Clark Elementary participates in the Boxtops for Education Program. Bring your boxtops and labels to the school office. PTO earns 10 cents for each box top.

Boxtops for Education