• Home
  • Policies
  • PTA
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News


Welcome to the Oatville Elementary Website!


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.


October 2016


Newsletter Archives



Follow us on Facebook


News Highlights

Parent/Teacher Conferences


PTA Skating Party


No School Days


Fall Parties



Upcoming Events









STOP Bullying Rules:


We will not bully others.


We will try to help students who are bullied.


We will try to include students who are left out. If we know that somebody is being bullied, we will tell an adult at school and an adult at home.


School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM


AM Pre-K:
8:25 AM - 11:25 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:50 PM - 3:50 PM


School Mascot:



School Colors:

Green and Yellow


School Motto:

"Today's Learners,

Tomorrow's Leaders"


How We Do It

Elementary Parent/Student Handbook


School Hours

School starts at 8:25 and dismisses at 3:50 p.m. Students can go to their classrooms beginning at 8:10. There is no adult supervision available for students before 8:00 a.m. unless you use Latchkey services. Students who arrive after 8:00 and before 8:10 will need to go to the Gym. Please do not use the bus drive to drop off students. When dropping off students, please have them enter through the front doors on the north side of the building.  Students must be in their classroom by 8:25 AM or they will be counted Tardy.  Parents must sign their students in late at the office after 8:25 AM.  Afternoon Pre-K who do not eat lunch at school should not arrive until 12:45 p.m. Your help in these matters are greatly appreciated.


Child Will Not Be At School, Call the Office

Please remember to call the office when your child will not be in school because of illness or appointments by 9:00 AM. Our phone number is 554-2290. If your child arrives at school after 8:25 AM, he/she will need to come to the office to sign-in. Students will be recognized for their attendance.


Wednesday Folders

Oatville students will take home a Wednesday Folder each week with notes from the office and teacher. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have seen the contents, and then return it promptly to school on Thursday or Friday. If you represent an organization which may be sending notes home with students, please be sure these notes are approved for distribution by the central office and that they arrive at school before Monday to be sent home on a Wednesday.


Oatville News Network - ONN

The staff and students are so excited about the continuation of closed circuit broadcasting which is being used for morning announcements each day. The 5th grade ONN crew and the Tech Squad have been busy learning the equipment and producing morning news broadcasts for Oatville staff and students. A special thank you to Mrs. Omenski for organizing this project and the Oatville PTA for providing the funds to purchase the equipment.


Family Rights and Privacy Act

If you do not want USD 261 to disclose directory information from your child’s education records, you must notify the District in writing by September 7th, 2015 or within two weeks of enrolling your child. Please send such notification to: Liz Hames, Community Relations Coordinator, 1745 W. Grand, Haysville, KS 67060 AND to your child’s school. If a written notification of refusal to release directory information is not received by the District, USD 261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the directory information as designated.






Make a difference . . . GET INVOLVED!!!


Next Meeting: October 11 @ 6 PM in the Commons



2016-2017 Officers:

President: Autumn Miller
1st Vice President: Christina Waller
Secretary: Lori Moreno
Treasurer: Rick Moreno & Candace Johnson
Room Parent Coordinator Crystal Weldin & Lori Moreno
Principal Natalie Rust


Follow us on Facebook!


PTA Sale

PTA currently has gourmet chocolate bars and scented pencils on sale in the front office! Stop by and snag them up! Each are $1.


Silent Auction

There will be a silent auction during Parent/Teacher Conferences! PTA will have some amazing stuff to auction off! Look for more information in your student’s Wednesday Folders!


Membership Drive

The PTA will be concentrating its efforts this month on recruiting new members and strengthening participation in its activities. Membership in the PTA is open to anyone - not just parents, guardians, and teachers of Oatville children. The cost of the membership is $3.50 per person with each member being issued a card. Please send your money to school in an envelope marked PTA. Remember you must be a member to have voting priviledges.


Volunteers Needed

The school is looking for parents to help with several projects around the school and building. As always, the teachers are in need of volunteers to read with students and to help with tutoring. In addition, assisting a teacher with making copies and other tasks is also appreciated. The flower beds/bushes are also in need of care. If any of these items is a project of which you would be willing to help with, please call the school office at 554-2290 or Jennifer Henry, the current PTA president.


PTA Skate Party -October 20

The PTA is planning an all school skating party at Roller City from 4:15 – 6:00 pm.

The cost of skating is $4.00 per person with the students being transported to the Skateskating rink by school bus. Please be sure to come into the rink between 6:00 and 6:15 pm to check your child out. We like to keep track of students and who picks them up. The PTA is always in need of parents who can help supervise at the rink and on the bus. Permission slips and reminder flyers will be sent home prior to the event.

Please note that no older children (siblings) are allowed at the Oatville Skate Party unless supervised by a parent.





Rust, Natalie Principal nrust@usd261.com
Ferris, Chris Secretary cferris@usd261.com
Doss, Amanda Secretary adoss@usd261.com
Miller, Brenna Counselor bmiller@usd261.com
Rorabaugh, Adam Psychologist arorabaugh@usd261.com
Davis, Nancy Health Aide ndavis@usd261.com
McLean, Helen Pre-K/At Risk Teacher hmclean@usd261.com
Hummer, Megan Pre-K mhummer@usd261.com

Fager, Melissa  View Website

Kindergarten mfager@usd261.com
Hawkinson, Amanda Kindergarten ahawkinson@usd261.com
Sorell, Megan Kindergarten msorell@usd261.com
Barrientos, Dana First Grade dbarrientos@usd261.com
Capps, Tabitha First Grade tcapps@usd261.com
Salyer, Wendi First Grade wsalyer@usd261.com
Carpenter, Paula Second Grade pcarp@usd261.com
Moyer, Diana Second Grade dmoyer@usd261.com
Johnson, Sarah Second Grade sajohnson@usd261.com
Dunn, Corrine Third Grade cdunn@usd261.com
Rausch, Jordan Third Grade jorausch@usd261.com
Russell, Kristen Third Grade krussell@usd261.com
Haskell, Cyndi Fourth Grade chaskell@usd261.com
Sexton, Jennifer Fourth Grade jsexton@usd261.com
Stanley, Amy Fourth Grade astanley@usd261.com
Glenn, Molly Fifth Grade mglenn@usd261.com
Park, Rene Fifth Grade rpark@usd261.com
Pritchett, Crystal Fifth Grade cpritchett@usd261.com
Cox, Emily Band view website ecox@usd261.com
Zoglmann, Ashley ELL azoglmann@usd261.com
Slade, Lisa GTC lslade@usd261.com
Mattison, Katie LD Teacher kmattison@usd261.com
Warkins, Rebecca LD 3-5 Teacher rwarkins@usd261.com
Lacey Easterday Music leasterday@usd261.com
Harvey, Colleen P.E. Teacher charvey@usd261.com
Hamilton, Misti Speech Teacher mhamilton@usd261.com
Taton, Laurien Strings view website ltaton@usd261.com
Marshall, Amber Technology amarshall@usd261.com
Hunt, Mary Learning Facilitator mhunt@usd261.com
Media Center
Eash, Esther Librarian eeash@usd261.com
Moreno, Lori Library Clerk lmoreno@usd261.com
Simons, Becky Kitchen Mgr. bsimons@usd261.com
Ingram, Wanda Kitchen wingram@usd261.com
Storlie, Brandie Kitchen bstorlie@usd261.com
Brickman, Elizabeth Para/SPED ebrickma@usd261.com
Gunter, Nancy Pre-K Para/SPED ngunter@usd261.com
Harris, Lori Para lharris@usd261.com
Henry, Jennifer Para/SPED jhenry@usd261.com
Hodges, Michelle Para mhodges@usd261.com
Horning, Andrea Para ahorning@usd261.com
Hubbard Debbie Para dhubbard@usd261.com
Lester, Bri Para blester@usd261.com
Lynch, Jessica Para jlynch@usd261.com
Mundy, Kim Para/Lunch kmundy@usd261.com
Rey, Amber Para/SPED arey@usd261.com
Rusch, Trish Para/SPED trusch@usd261.com
Spain, Angela Para aspain@usd261.com
Willig, Pat LD Para/SPED pwillig@usd261.com
Wingfield, Nikki Para/SPED mwingfield@usd261.com
Building Engineers
Fischer, Jon Custodian jfischer@usd261.com
Griswald, Lou Custodian lgriswald@usd261.com
Moore, Margo Custodian mmoore@usd261.com
Wolfe, Susan Custodian swolfe@usd261.com




Contact Us



Oatville Elementary




Oatville Elementary

4335 S. Hoover

Wichita, KS 67215


Telephone: 316-554-2290

Fax: 316-554-2292


Office Hours:

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Monday - Friday



In the Office:

Natalie Rust, Principal
email: nrust@usd261.com

Chris Ferris, Secretary
e-mail: cferris@usd261.com

Amanda Doss, Secretary

email: adoss@usd261.com


Health Room:

Nancy Davis

email: ndavis@usd261.com




U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060


Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230


Admin Office Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Oatville Named National Blue Ribbon School!

Oatville Elementary has been honored as a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School in the "Exemplary High Performing" Category.  The announcement came Tuesday, September 30, 2014.  Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.  This award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. 

Read more....






Student Links

Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library




October No School Dates:

October 21: End of Nine Weeks

October 27 & 28: Conference Week

See the District Calendar for additional No School Dates.


Fall Parties

Fall parties are scheduled for Thursday, October 20. Parties begin at 9:15 AM. Afternoon Pre-K parties will be at 1:15 PM. Students may wear costumes to school! Please bring a sack to store your costume after the parade.


Parent/Teacher Conferences - October 24 & 25

We encourage all parents to attend conferences. If you were unable to sign up for a conference time at Open House, please call your child's teacher by October 14 to schedule a time slot for your conference.


PTA Silent Auction - At Conferences

There will be a silent auction during Parent/Teacher Conferences! PTA will have some amazing items to auction off! Look for more information in your student's Wednesday folders.

It's not too late to sign up for PTA!!! Contact the office for more information.


15-16 State Assessments Results Are In - Congratulations!

Congratulations to our students that participated in State Assessments last year (grades 3,4,5). All grade levels scored above the district and state benchmarks in reading and math. Individual scores will be mailed out through the Administrative Office so stay tuned for more information as it develops. High achievement is a direct reflection of the parent involvement and teacher dedication at Oatville.


PTA Sale

PTA currently has gourmet chocolate bars and scented pencils on sale in the front office! Stop by and snag them up! Each are $1.


Pay for School Lunches Online

Haysville Schools utilizes the online program, My School Bucks, which allows parents/guardians the ability to manage their child's meal account online. Go to www.myschoolbucks.com to view details of this time saving program.





PTA Skate Party - October 20

The PTA is planning a skating party at Roller City from 4:15 to 6:00 p.m. The cost of skating is $4.00 per person with the students being transported to the skating rink by district school bus. Please be sure to come into the rink between 6:00 and 6:15 p.m. to check your child out. Permission slips will be sent home prior to the event and students will not be allowed to enter the bus without a signed slip. Please note the skating money and spending money must be in separate envelopes.


Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here


Oatville Snack Shack

The Oatville Snack Shack is now open every Friday in the Commons. Snacks range from beef jerky, crackers, pickles, juice and a variety of other snacks. All items are priced at fifty cents per item.


District Wellness Plan

Haysville School District adopted a wellness plan to improve the health and well-being of our students. A special thank you to all the parents and to our PTA for supporting this effort to make parties and celebrations for students to include more healthy choices. The fall parties were great with many creative ideas for following the wellness guidelines and suggestions. As a reminder, parents are asked to assist by following guidelines for providing healthy items in their child's sack lunch as well as healthy snacks for parties and special occassions. While parties are a time to celebrate, providing helathy items can still be fun.

See District Plan


Bully Prevention Program (OLWEUS)

At Oatville Elementary, bullying is not accepted behavior. Oatville has adopted a Bully Prevention Program.


Parents May Request Teacher Qualifications

Each school year, any parent who has a child attending any school receiving Title I funds may request and receive, in a timely manner, information regarding the professional qualifications of the student's classroom teachers. In addition, the parents may also ask whether the child is provided services by a paraprofessional and if so, his or her qualifications. Get a request form


Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for










Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines