• Home
  • Policies
  • PTA
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

 

Welcome to the Oatville Elementary Website!

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

April Newsletter

 

 

Newsletter Archives

 

 

News Highlights

 

All Day Kindergarten

 

Fun Run

 

Kindergarten Round-Up

 

Spring Parties

 

Blue Ribbon School Nominee

 

 

 

Upcoming Events



 

 

Oatville

STOP Bullying Rules:

 

We will not bully others.

 

We will try to help students who are bullied.

 

We will try to include students who are left out. If we know that somebody is being bullied, we will tell an adult at school and an adult at home.

 


School Hours:

8:20 AM - 3:45 PM

 

AM Kindergarten:
8:20 AM - 11:20 AM

PM Kindergarten:
12:45 PM - 3:45 PM

 

School Mascot:

Indian

 

School Colors:

Green and Yellow

 

School Motto:

"Today's Learners,

Tomorrow's Leaders"

 

How We Do It


Elementary Parent/Student Handbook

 

School Hours

School starts at 8:20 a.m. and dismisses at 3:45 p.m. Students can go to their classrooms beginning at 8:10. There is no adult supervision available for students before 8:00 a.m. unless you use Latchkey services. Students who arrive after 8:00 and before 8:10 will need to go to the library. Please do not use the bus drive to drop off students. When dropping off students, please have them enter through the front doors on the north side of the building. Afternoon kindergarteners who do not eat lunch at school should not arrive until 12:35 p.m. Your help in these matters are greatly appreciated.

 

Child Will Not Be At School, Call the Office

Please remember to call the office when your child will not be in school because of illness or appointments by 9:00 AM. Our phone number is 554-2290. If your child arrives at school after 8:20 AM, he/she will need to come to the office to sign-in. Students will be recognized for their attendance.

 

Wednesday Folders

Oatville students will take home a Wednesday Folder each week with notes from the office and teacher. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have seen the contents, and then return it promptly to school on Thursday or Friday. If you represent an organization which may be sending notes home with students, please be sure these notes are approved for distribution by the central office and that they arrive at school before Monday to be sent home on a Wednesday.

 

Oatville News Network - ONN

The staff and students are so excited about the continuation of closed circuit broadcasting which is being used for
morning announcements each day. The 5th grade ONN crew and the Tech Squad have been busy learning the equipment and producing morning news broadcasts for Oatville staff and students. A special thank you to Mrs. Omenski and Mrs. Chrisco for organizing this project and the Oatville PTA for providing the funds to purchase the equipment.

 

 

PTA


 

Make a difference . . . GET INVOLVED!!!

 

Next Meeting: TBA

 

2013-2014 Officers:

 
President: Jennifer Henry
1st Vice President: Serena Kates
Secretary: Erin Richwine
Treasurer: Dawn Choura
Room Parent Coordinator  
Principal Shane Dent

 

September PTA Newsletter

 

Follow us on Facebook!

 

Thanks!!!

Thank you students and parents for your participation and help with our recent PTA Fundraiser. Please not that the Big Bash Fundraiser Party has been scheduled for the afternoon of December 18. As a thank you, we will provide music, games and lots of activities.

 

Membership Drive

The PTA will be concentrating its efforts this month on recruiting new members and strengthening participation in its activities. Membership in the PTA is open to anyone - not just parents, guardians, and teachers of Oatville children. The cost of the membership is $3.50 per person with each member being issued a card. Please send your money to school in an envelope marked PTA. Remember you must be a member to have voting priviledges.

 

Volunteers Needed

The school is looking for parents to help with several projects around the school and building. As always, the teachers are in need of volunteers to read with students and to help with tutoring. In addition, assisting a teacher with making copies and other tasks is also appreciated. The flower beds/bushes are also in need of care. If any of these items is a project of which you would be willing to help with, please call the school office at 554-2290 or Jennifer Henry, the current PTA president.

 

PTA Skate Party - April 24

The PTA is planning an all school skating party at Roller City from 4:15 – 6:15 pm.

The cost of skating is $4.00 per person with the students being transported to the Skateskating rink by school bus. Please be sure to come into the rink between 6:00 and 6:15 pm to check your child out. We like to keep track of students and who picks them up. The PTA is always in need of parents who can help supervise at the rink and on the bus. Permission slips and reminder flyers will be sent home prior to the event.

Please note that no older children (siblings) are allowed at the Oatville Skate Party unless supervised by a parent.


 

 

 

 

 

 

Staff


 

Administration
Dent, Shane Principal dent@usd261.com
Ferris, Chris Secretary cferris@usd261.com
Miller, Trisha Secretary trishmiller@usd261.com
Mason, Chris Counselor cmason@usd261.com
Miller, Brenna Counselor bmiller@usd261.com
Rorabaugh, Adam Psychologist arorabaugh@usd261.com
Davis, Nancy Health Aide ndavis@usd261.com
     
Teachers
Hummer, Megan Pre-K & SpEd Teacher mhummer@usd261.com
McLean, Helen Pre-K/At Risk Teacher hmclean@usd261.com

Fager, Melissa

View Website

Kdgn mfager@usd261.com
Meek, Tami Kdgn. tmeek@usd261.com
Florio, Jessica First Grade jflorio@usd261.com
Salyer, Wendi First Grade wsalyer@usd261.com
Underhill, Diane First Grade dunder@usd261.com
Maghe, Joseph Second Grade jmaghe@usd261.com

Sorell, Megan

Second Grade msorell@usd261.com
Carpenter, Paula Second Grade pcarp@usd261.com
August, Conolley Third Grade caugust@usd261.com
Bruno, Heather Third Grade hbruno@usd261.com
Russell, Kristen Third Grade krussell@usd261.com
Haskell, Cyndi Fourth Grade chaskell@usd261.com
Mattingly, Taylor Fourth Grade tmattingly@usd261.com
Sexton, Jennifer Fourth Grade jsexton@usd261.com
Coats, Jan Fifth Grade jcoats@usd261.com
Park, Rene Fifth Grade rpark@usd261.com
Brickman, Charlotte Fifth Grade cbrickman@usd261.com
     
Electives
Cox, Emily Band view website ecox@usd261.com
Wren, Melinda ELL mjmwren@usd26.com
Slade, Lisa GTC lslade@usd261.com
Mattison, Katie LD Teacher kmattison@usd261.com
Warkins, Rebecca LD 3-5 Teacher rwarkins@usd261.com
Jervis, Lindsay Music ljervis@usd261.com
Harvey, Colleen P.E. Teacher charvey@usd261.com
Chrisco, Christal Speech Teacher cchrisco@usd261.com
Hansen, Donna Strings dhansen@usd261.com
Omenski, Carol Technology comenski@usd261.com
Hunt, Mary LRS mhunt@usd261.com
     
Media Center
Belden, Sandee Librarian sbelden@usd261.com
Dennison, Sandy Library Clerk sdenniso@usd261.com
     
Kitchen
Simons, Becky Kitchen Mgr. bsimons@usd261.com
Griffin, Pam Kitchen pgriffin@usd261.com
     
Paraprofessionals
Brickman, Elizabeth Para ebrickman@usd261.com
George, Mary LD Para mgeorge@usd261.com
McKnight, Cindy Para/Lunch cmcknight@usd261.com
Mundy, Kim Para/Lunch kmundy@usd261.com
Rusch, Trish Para trusch@usd261.com
Whisler, Sheri Para/Lunch swhisler@usd261.com
Gunter, Nancy Pre-K Para ngunter@usd261.com
Kilmer, Julie Pre-K Para jkilmer@usd261.com
Willig, Pat LD Para pwillig@usd261.com
     
Custodians
Moore, Margo Custodian  
Wolf, Susan Custodian  

 

 

Contact Us


 

 

Oatville Elementary

 

 

 

Oatville Elementary

4335 S. Hoover

Wichita, KS 67215

 

Telephone: 316-554-2290

Fax: 316-554-2292

 

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Office Hours: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

In the Office:

 

Shane Dent, Principal

email: dent@usd261.com

Chris Ferris, Secretary
e-mail: cferris@usd261.com

Trish Miller, Secretary

email: trishmiller@usd261.com

 

Health Room:

Nancy Davis

email: ndavis@usd261.com

 

Office Hours:

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Monday - Friday

 


About the Principal

Mr. Shane Dent

Mr. DentMr. Dent has been a third grade teacher at Oatville for 13 years. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education in 1997 from Kansas State University. At Newman University, he received a Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction in 2000, and a Master's degree in 2003 in Building Administration.
"Our biggest strength as a school is understanding the individual needs of each student. Each child learns differently based on his/her life experiences," Dent said. "As a teacher, I communicate openly with my students the importance of strong character and how this plays into their education and their future as well. I work hard to show students the importance of building good relationships; relationships not only with their classmates, or with their teacher, but also with the whole Oatville family."
Dent is a strong believer that it is essential for parents to take an active role in their child's education through encouragement and reinforcement at home. "I extend my hand to welcome parents to come and observe what we are doing. I am looking forward to the year ahead, and working with your child on the foundation of their education."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Links


Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Blackboard Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

News


Kindergarten Round-Up Kindergarten Roundup

We are currently searching for future KIndergarten students who will be 5 on or before August 31, 2014. We invite parents of those students to attend an informational meeting regarding All Day Kindergarten and pre-registration for the 2014-15 school year. The district-wide Kindergarten Round-Up is scheduled for April 29, 2014 at 6:30 PM at Prairie Elementary School, 7101 S. Meridian. To pre-register your student, please bring the following information: current immunization records, state certified birth certificate, and proof of residency which would include a current utility bill or a lease/purchase agreement with the parent/guardian's name, address and a current date. It is not necessary for the students to attend. USD 261 Pre-K students do not need to pre-register as they are already in our system. If you have further questions, call any of our Elementary Schools.

 

Fun Run - April 10

Oatville's 1st Annual Fun Run will be held April 10. The monies collected from the student pledges will be used to pay for a Rock Climbing Wall dedicated to Andrew Williams, an Oatville student that recently passed away from leukemia. Students will be provided with a Fun Run T-Shirt to wear the day of the run. Family members and friends are invited to attend that day and participate with their students.

 

KSDE Nominates Oatville Elementary for Blue Ribbon Award

Oatville Elementary School has been nominated by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) for the prestigious United States Department of Education National Blue Ribbon School Program Award.
The KSDE nomination acknowledges Oatville Elementary School student’s high performance in the category of “Exemplary High Performing” schools which are among its state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

The 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced in September in a news conference in Washington, D.C.

 

April No School Dates

April 18 & 21: No Contract Day

 

BOE Approves All Day Kindergarten at Every Elementary School

Kindergarten students in Haysville Schools will attend class all day next school year. The Board of Education voted in February to extend the current half-day program to all day. Currently, we have two schools that offer a fee-supported All Day program, which has been a success. Beginning 2014-2015 school year, the district will fund the All Day program for all Kindergarten students.

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

Oatville Snack Shack

The Oatville Snack Shack is now open every Friday in the Commons. Snacks range from beef jerky, chips, crackers, pickles, juice and a variety of other snacks. All items are priced between fifty cents.

 

Recycle Used Computer Ink Cartridges/Cell Phones

If you are currently throwing away your used computer ink cartridges and outdated cell phones, please send them to Oatville. We have joined a recycling program that trades used ink cartridges for cash and vouchers for technology equipment. Let your friends and co-workers know as well. This is a cheap and easy way to supplement our technology budget. If you have any questions, please contact Carol Omenski or call the school office at 554-2290.

 

District Wellness Plan

Haysville School District adopted a wellness plan to improve the health and well-being of our students. A special thank you to all the parents and to our PTA for supporting this effort to make parties and celebrations for students to include more healthy choices. The fall parties were great with many creative ideas for following the wellness guidelines and suggestions. As a reminder, parents are asked to assist by following guidelines for providing healthy items in their child's sack lunch as well as healthy snacks for parties and special occassions. While parties are a time to celebrate, providing helathy items can still be fun.

 

Bully Prevention Program
(OLWEUS)

At Oatville Elementary, bullying is not accepted behavior. Oatville has adopted a Bully Prevention Program.

 

Parents May Request Teacher Qualifications

Each school year, any parent who has a child attending any school receiving Title I funds may request and receive, in a timely manner, information regarding the professional qualifications of the student's classroom teachers. In addition, the parents may also ask whether the child is provided services by a paraprofessional and if so, his or her qualifications.

Get a request form

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT

 

 

State Assessment Awards

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

State Assessment Award

 

Oatville Archives

 

Volunteer Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines