• Home
  • Policies
  • PTA
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

 

Welcome to the Oatville Elementary Website!

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

September 2015

 

Newsletter Archives

 

News Highlights


School Pictures - September 3

 

Patriot Day - September 11

 

Bowling to Schools Grant Program

Upcoming Events


 

notebooks

 

 

 


 

 

Oatville

STOP Bullying Rules:

 

We will not bully others.

 

We will try to help students who are bullied.

 

We will try to include students who are left out. If we know that somebody is being bullied, we will tell an adult at school and an adult at home.

 


School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM

 

AM Pre-K:
8:25 AM - 11:25 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:50 PM - 3:50 PM

 

School Mascot:

Indian

 

School Colors:

Green and Yellow

 

School Motto:

"Today's Learners,

Tomorrow's Leaders"

 

How We Do It


Elementary Parent/Student Handbook

 

School Hours

School starts at 8:25 and dismisses at 3:50 p.m. Students can go to their classrooms beginning at 8:10. There is no adult supervision available for students before 8:00 a.m. unless you use Latchkey services. Students who arrive after 8:00 and before 8:10 will need to go to the library. Please do not use the bus drive to drop off students. When dropping off students, please have them enter through the front doors on the north side of the building.  Students must be in their classroom by 8:25 AM or they will be counted Tardy.  Parents must sign their students in late at the office after 8:25 AM.  Afternoon Pre-K who do not eat lunch at school should not arrive until 12:35 p.m. Your help in these matters are greatly appreciated.

 

Child Will Not Be At School, Call the Office

Please remember to call the office when your child will not be in school because of illness or appointments by 9:00 AM. Our phone number is 554-2290. If your child arrives at school after 8:25 AM, he/she will need to come to the office to sign-in. Students will be recognized for their attendance.

 

Wednesday Folders

Oatville students will take home a Wednesday Folder each week with notes from the office and teacher. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have seen the contents, and then return it promptly to school on Thursday or Friday. If you represent an organization which may be sending notes home with students, please be sure these notes are approved for distribution by the central office and that they arrive at school before Monday to be sent home on a Wednesday.

 

Oatville News Network - ONN

The staff and students are so excited about the continuation of closed circuit broadcasting which is being used for morning announcements each day. The 5th grade ONN crew and the Tech Squad have been busy learning the equipment and producing morning news broadcasts for Oatville staff and students. A special thank you to Mrs. Omenski for organizing this project and the Oatville PTA for providing the funds to purchase the equipment.

 

 

PTA


 

Make a difference . . . GET INVOLVED!!!

 

Next Meeting: TBA

 

2015-2016 Officers:

 
President: Jennifer Henry
1st Vice President: Tabatha Wallace
Secretary: Sara Landwehr
Treasurer: Christina Waller & Autumn Miller
Room Parent Coordinator Ikeda Holloway
Principal Shane Dent

 

Follow us on Facebook!

 

Membership Drive

The PTA will be concentrating its efforts this month on recruiting new members and strengthening participation in its activities. Membership in the PTA is open to anyone - not just parents, guardians, and teachers of Oatville children. The cost of the membership is $3.50 per person with each member being issued a card. Please send your money to school in an envelope marked PTA. Remember you must be a member to have voting priviledges.

 

Volunteers Needed

The school is looking for parents to help with several projects around the school and building. As always, the teachers are in need of volunteers to read with students and to help with tutoring. In addition, assisting a teacher with making copies and other tasks is also appreciated. The flower beds/bushes are also in need of care. If any of these items is a project of which you would be willing to help with, please call the school office at 554-2290 or Jennifer Henry, the current PTA president.

 

PTA Skate Party - Schedule will be posted for 2015-16 School Year

The PTA is planning an all school skating party at Roller City from 4:15 – 6:15 pm.

The cost of skating is $4.00 per person with the students being transported to the Skateskating rink by school bus. Please be sure to come into the rink between 6:00 and 6:15 pm to check your child out. We like to keep track of students and who picks them up. The PTA is always in need of parents who can help supervise at the rink and on the bus. Permission slips and reminder flyers will be sent home prior to the event.

Please note that no older children (siblings) are allowed at the Oatville Skate Party unless supervised by a parent.


 

 

Staff


 

Administration
Dent, Shane Principal dent@usd261.com
Ferris, Chris Secretary cferris@usd261.com
Miller, Trisha Secretary trishmiller@usd261.com
Miller, Brenna Counselor bmiller@usd261.com
Rorabaugh, Adam Psychologist arorabaugh@usd261.com
Davis, Nancy Health Aide ndavis@usd261.com
Teachers
McLean, Helen Pre-K/At Risk Teacher hmclean@usd261.com
Hummer, Megan Pre-K mhummer@usd261.com

Fager, Melissa  View Website

Kindergarten mfager@usd261.com
Hawkinson, Amanda Kindergarten ahawkinson@usd261.com
Sorell, Megan Kindergarten msorell@usd261.com
Capps, Tabitha First Grade tcapps@usd261.com
Salyer, Wendi First Grade wsalyer@usd261.com
Danielsen, Taylor First Grade tdanielsen@usd261.com
Carpenter, Paula Second Grade pcarp@usd261.com
Moyer, Diana Second Grade dmoyer@usd261.com
Johnson, Sarah Second Grade sjohnson@usd261.com
Bruno, Heather Third Grade hbruno@usd261.com
Dunn, Corrine Third Grade cdunn@usd261.com
Russell, Kristen Third Grade krussell@usd261.com
Haskell, Cyndi Fourth Grade chaskell@usd261.com
Sexton, Jennifer Fourth Grade jsexton@usd261.com
Stanley, Amy Fourth Grade astanley@usd261.com
Coats, Jan Fifth Grade jcoats@usd261.com
Park, Rene Fifth Grade rpark@usd261.com
Brickman, Charlotte Fifth Grade cbrickman@usd261.com
Electives
Cox, Emily Band view website ecox@usd261.com
Wren, Melinda ELL mjmwren@usd26.com
Slade, Lisa GTC lslade@usd261.com
Mattison, Katie LD Teacher kmattison@usd261.com
Warkins, Rebecca LD 3-5 Teacher rwarkins@usd261.com
Jervis, Lindsay Music ljervis@usd261.com
Harvey, Colleen P.E. Teacher charvey@usd261.com
Hamilton, Misti Speech Teacher mhamilton@usd261.com
Taton, Laurien Strings view website ltaton@usd261.com
Omenski, Carol Technology comenski@usd261.com
Hunt, Mary LRS mhunt@usd261.com
Media Center
Eash, Esther Librarian eeash@usd261.com
Dennison, Sandy Library Clerk sdenniso@usd261.com
Kitchen
Simons, Becky Kitchen Mgr. bsimons@usd261.com
Gregg, Amanda Kitchen agregg@usd261.com
Paraprofessionals
Brickman, Elizabeth Para ebrickman@usd261.com
Garrison, Kathleen SPED Para kgarrison@usd261.com
Gunter, Nancy Pre-K Para ngunter@usd261.com
Henry, Jennifer Para jhenry@usd261.com
Hernandez, Sophia Para shernandez@usd261.com
Lynch, Jessica Para jlynch@usd261.com
McKnight, Cindy Para/Lunch cmcknight@usd261.com
Mundy, Kim Para/Lunch kmundy@usd261.com
Rey, Amber Para arey@usd261.com
Rusch, Trish Para trusch@usd261.com
Straumbauch, Hollie Para hstraumbauch@usd261.com
Willig, Pat LD Para pwillig@usd261.com
Custodians
Griswald, Lou Custodian lgriswald@usd261.com
Moore, Margo Custodian mmoore@usd261.com
Wolf, Susan Custodian swolf@usd261.com

 

 

Contact Us


 

 

Oatville Elementary

 

 

 

Oatville Elementary

4335 S. Hoover

Wichita, KS 67215

 

Telephone: 316-554-2290

Fax: 316-554-2292

 

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Office Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

In the Office:

 

Shane Dent, Principal

email: dent@usd261.com

Chris Ferris, Secretary
e-mail: cferris@usd261.com

Trish Miller, Secretary

email: trishmiller@usd261.com

 

Health Room:

Nancy Davis

email: ndavis@usd261.com

 

Office Hours:

7:15 AM - 4:15 PM

Monday - Friday

 


About the Principal

Mr. Shane Dent

Mr. DentMr. Dent has been a third grade teacher at Oatville for 13 years. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education in 1997 from Kansas State University. At Newman University, he received a Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction in 2000, and a Master's degree in 2003 in Building Administration.
"Our biggest strength as a school is understanding the individual needs of each student. Each child learns differently based on his/her life experiences," Dent said. "As a teacher, I communicate openly with my students the importance of strong character and how this plays into their education and their future as well. I work hard to show students the importance of building good relationships; relationships not only with their classmates, or with their teacher, but also with the whole Oatville family."
Dent is a strong believer that it is essential for parents to take an active role in their child's education through encouragement and reinforcement at home. "I extend my hand to welcome parents to come and observe what we are doing. I am looking forward to the year ahead, and working with your child on the foundation of their education."

 

Oatville Named National Blue Ribbon School!

Oatville Elementary has been honored as a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School in the "Exemplary High Performing" Category.  The announcement came Tuesday, September 30, 2014.  Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.  This award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. 

Read more....

 

 

 

 

Student Links


Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

News


Welcome to the 2015-16 School Year

A special welcome to all of our new students and their families.    We have several new staff members this year. Please welcome Mrs. Johnson to 2nd Grade, Mrs. Dunn to 3rd Grade and Mrs. Stanley to 4th Grade.  The staff is here to provide the best that we can for your child, teaching them academic basics, social skills, self-discipline, and a zest for learning.  Also, please be sure the office, health room, and your child’s teacher have your current phone numbers and email address.

 

School Hours Have Changed!

USD 261 elementary schools have new hours this year. School will begin at 8:25 a.m. and dismiss at 3:50 p.m. The building will be locked at 8:25 and you will not be able to enter the building, unless buzzed thru the office.  Students can go to their classrooms beginning at 8:15. There is no adult supervision available for students before 8:00 a.m. unless you use Latchkey services. Students who arrive before 8:00 are not allowed to enter the building and must stay in the foyer.  Please do not use the bus drive to drop off students.  When dropping off students, please have them enter through the front doors on the north side of the building. Your help in these matters are greatly appreciated.

 

School Pictures - September 3

All students will get their pictures taken for the yearbook and PowerSchool. If you wish to buy a packet of pictures, please complete the picture packet that will be sent home in the Wednesday Folder. Pictures must be paid for in advance.

 

Patriot Day - September 11

All students and staff are encouraged to wear red, white, and blue to help celebrate the day and show pride.

 

Family Rights and Privacy Act

If you do not want USD 261 to disclose directory information from your child’s education records, you must notify the District in writing by September 7th, 2015 or within two weeks of enrolling your child. Please send such notification to: Liz Hames, Community Relations Coordinator, 1745 W. Grand, Haysville, KS 67060 AND to your child’s school. If a written notification of refusal to release directory information is not received by the District, USD 261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the directory information as designated.

 

PTA Skate Party - September 24

The PTA is planning a skating party at Roller City on Thursday, September 24th from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. The cost of skating is $4.00 per person with the students being transported to the skating rink by district school bus. Please be sure to come into the rink between 6:00 and 6:15 p.m. to check your child out. The PTA is always in need of parents who can help supervise at the rink and on the bus. Please call Jennifer Henry at 516-1337 if you are interested in helping. Permission slips will be sent home prior to the event and students will not be allowed to enter the bus without a signed slip. Please note the skating money and spending money must be in separate envelopes.

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

Oatville Snack Shack

The Oatville Snack Shack is now open every Friday in the Commons. Snacks range from beef jerky, crackers, pickles, juice and a variety of other snacks. All items are priced at fifty cents per item.

 

District Wellness Plan

Haysville School District adopted a wellness plan to improve the health and well-being of our students. A special thank you to all the parents and to our PTA for supporting this effort to make parties and celebrations for students to include more healthy choices. The fall parties were great with many creative ideas for following the wellness guidelines and suggestions. As a reminder, parents are asked to assist by following guidelines for providing healthy items in their child's sack lunch as well as healthy snacks for parties and special occassions. While parties are a time to celebrate, providing helathy items can still be fun.

 

Bully Prevention Program (OLWEUS)

At Oatville Elementary, bullying is not accepted behavior. Oatville has adopted a Bully Prevention Program.

 

Parents May Request Teacher Qualifications

Each school year, any parent who has a child attending any school receiving Title I funds may request and receive, in a timely manner, information regarding the professional qualifications of the student's classroom teachers. In addition, the parents may also ask whether the child is provided services by a paraprofessional and if so, his or her qualifications. Get a request form

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for

HOME CONNECT

 

 

 

Volunteer

 

 

Oatville Archives

 

 

 

Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines