• Home
  • Policies
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

 

Welcome to the Rex Elementary Website!

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

April 2017 Newsletter

 

Newsletter Archives

 

News Highlights


Students Learn HTML Code

 

Volunteer Opportunities

 

 

 


 

 

Upcoming Events


notebooks


 

Policies

 

School Facts

 

School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM

 

AM Pre-K:
8:25 AM - 11:25 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:50 PM - 3:50 PM

 

 

Grades:

Pre-K - 5

 

Enrollment: 471

 

Staff: 67

 

Grades:

Pre-K - 5th Grade

 

School Colors:

Purple and Gold

 

School Mascot:

Roadrunner

 

 

 

 

How We Do It


Elementary Parent/Student Handbook

 

School Hours

A reminder that school hours are from 8:25 AM - 3:50 PM. There is no adult supervision available for students until 8:00 AM unless you participate in Latchkey services. In the morning students who arrive prior to 8:10 AM should enter through the front doors and go to the gym. Pre-K students who do not eat lunch at school should not be dropped off until 12:30 PM. Thank you for your cooperation on these matters.

 

Friday Folders

We will be sending all regular weekly communications home in Friday Folders. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have viewed them, and then return the folder promptly on Monday.

 

 

From the Healthroom . . . .

 

Medications at School

According to Kansas State Statutes, children who have medications to take at school need to have them kept in the Nurse’s office and not with the child. Especially in elementary, medications are to be kept in a locked cabinet at all times for the safety of your child and other children at the school. If you are sending medications to the health room via your child, please call the Health aid to let her know they are on the way and can take them from your child before school starts. Thank you for your help in this matter.

 

When Your Child Is Sick

It is recommended that children with symptoms such as

* fever over 100F
* diarrhea
* vomiting
* sore throat
* rashes
* red, draining eyes
* thick, green nasal discharge

need to stay home for 24 hours after these symptoms are resolved, unless a note from the family physician states that the student can attend school. Children should be fever-free for 24 hours WITHOUT the use of fever reducing medication before returning to school.

 

Staff 2012-2013


 

Name Position Email
Brian Howard Principal bhoward@usd261.com
Michelle Steen Secretary msteen@usd261.com
Jan Williams Secretary jwilliams@usd261.com
Abby Thrash Counselor athrash@usd261.com
Linda Sullivan

Psychologist

lsullivan@usd261.com
Morgan Lehning, LPN Nurse mlehning@usd261.com
Teachers
Tammy Fleming PreKindergarten tfleming@usd261.com
Tammy Ricke PreKindergarten tricke@usd261.com
Laura Johnson Kindergarten ljohnson@usd261.com
Rebecca Barton Kindergarten rbarton@usd261.com
Mickey Mackey Kindergarten mmackey@usd261.com
Michelle Groh Kindergarten mgroh@usd261.com
Savannah Bazil First Grade sbazil@usd261.com
Alicia Chavers First Grade achavers@usd261.com
Bethany Craig First Grade bcraig@usd261.com
Amanda Hollenbeck First Grade ahollenbeck@usd261.com
Gena Harris Second Grade gharris@usd261.com
Randy Pretzer Second Grade rpretzer@usd261.com
Hollie Reece Second Grade hreece@usd261.com
Haleigh Sheler Second Grade hsheler@usd261.com
Brylee Elmore Third Grade bbeiswanger@usd261.com
Tiffany Butler Third Grade tbutler@usd261.com
Amber Marrs Third Grade amarrs@usd261.com

Larry Shepherd

Third Grade

lshepherd@usd261.com
Rhonda Dezotell Fourth Grade rdezotel@usd261.com
Derrial Nichols Fourth Grade dnichols@usd261.com
Carrie Thrash Fourth Grade cthrash@usd261.com
Robyn Darbyshire Fifth Grade rdarbysh@usd261.com
Amber Dougan Fifth Grade adougan@usd261.com
Kelsey Garner Fifth Grade kgarner@usd261.com
Brenda Lolling Literacy First blolling@usd261.com
Westina Fields Resource K-2 wfields@usd261.com
Sarah Jones Resource 4-5 sjones@usd261.com
Karla Jeardoe Resource Gifted kjeardoe@usd261.com
Mary Francis Dunn Speech mdunn@usd261.com
Lori McGinness Speech lmcginness@usd261.com
Kendra Gill Music kgill@usd261.com
Kelly Little P.E. klittle@usd261.com
Laurien Taton Orchestra view website ltaton@usd261.com

Emily Cox

Band view website ecox@usd261.com
Kelly Kennedy Computer Lab kkennedy@usd261.com
Library
Jennifer Morris Librarian jmorris@usd261.com
Holly Easterby Library Clerk heasterby@usd261.com
Para-Professionals
Pam Cowden Para pcowden@usd261.com
Amber Chavez Para achavez@usd261.com
Rebecca Darnell Para rdarnell@usd261.com
Steve Dezotell Para sdezotell@usd261.com
Kim Garrett Para kgarrett@usd261.com
Julie Kilmer Para jkilmer@usd261.com
Christine King Para cking@usd261.com
Jana Lawrence Para jlawrence@usd261.com
Becky Mendenhall Para bmendenhall@usd261.com
Jene Menzies Para jmenzies@usd261.com
Nicky Morgan Para nmorgan@usd261.com
Brandi Palmer Para bpalmer@usd261.com
Judy Pretzer Para jpretzer@usd261.com
Kelci Schremmer Para kschremmer@usd261.com
Cindy Ward Para cward@usd261.com
Amy Woods Para awoods@usd261.com
Support Staff
Sue Cooper Kitchen Manager scooper@usd261.com
Rebecca Rector Playground rrector@usd261.com
LeAnna Calvert Custodian  
Denise Goebel Custodian  

 

 

 

 

Contact Us


 

Oatville Elementary

In the Office:

 

Mr. Brian Howard, Principal

email: bhoward@usd261.com

Michelle Steen, Secretary
e-mail: msteen@usd261.com


Jan Williams, Secretary
e-mail: jwilliams@usd261.com

 

Health Room:

Morgan Lehning, LPN

email: mlehning@usd261.com

 

 

Rex Elementary School

1100 W. Grand

Haysville, KS 67060

 

Tel: 316-554-2281    Fax: 316-554-2283

 

Office hours:

7:40 AM - 4:10 PM

Monday - Friday

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Tel: 316-554-2200    Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Admin Office Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Student Links


 

 

Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

 

News


Mark Your Calendars - April No School Dates

April 14 - 17: Non-Contract Days

 

Kindergarten Round-Up

USD 261 is calling all students who will be five years of age on or before August 31. Make plans now to attend Kindergarten Round-Up at your area elementary school to pre-register for next school year. Please bring the following items to this event: state certified birth certificate, current immunization records, and a proof of residency (current utility bill, lease/purchase agreement with parent's name and current date). The following is the Kindergarten Round-Up schedule, please call USD 261 Administration Building at 554-2200 if you are not certain which school your child will attend.

 

School Address Date Time
Ruth Clark Elementary 1900 W. 55th St. So. May 2, 2017 10:00 AM
Nelson Elementary 245 N. Delos May 2, 2017 1:30 PM
Freeman Elementary 7301 S. Meridian May 3, 2017 10:00 AM
Rex Elementary 1100 W. Grand May 3, 2017 1:30 PM
Oatville Elementary 4335 S. Hoover May 4, 2017 9:30 AM
Prairie Elementary 7101 S. Meridian May 4, 2017 1:30 PM

 

CHS Students team up with Fifth Graders for Hour of Code

Seventeen Campus High School students participated in the third Hour of Code event hosted at Rex Elementary School on December 9. The program is a global initiative to get younger students interested in computer science, particularly coding. The students were taught html/css coding as they created their own basic websites.

 

Hour of Code

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

Literacy First

Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are high-quality academic expectations that were created by experts and teachers from around the country These research and evidence based standards were developed to ensure students are prepared to enter a world (after high school) in which colleges and businesses are demanding more and students can be successful. The CCSS helps develop and build your child's critical-thinking, problem-solving and analytical skills in English Language Arts and Mathematics.

 

Students in third, fourth, and fifth grades have started taking the state assessments. The students have to do more than find the answers and complete basic tasks. They will be using reasoning skills, working through more complex problems and even doing research on a variety of fiction and nonfiction texts.

  • Read more in the April newsletter...
    Each month Brenda Lolling, Rex Learning Facilitator, will post information regarding literacy strategies or skills that might be helpful for you and your child at home. If you have any questions about Literacy First, please call Brenda at 554-2281 or email brlolling@usd261.com.

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT

 

Students Improve Skills with SuccessMaker

Rex students now have a new tool to improve their reading and math skills. SuccessMaker is a computer program which creates individualized sets of activities for each student at their level of performance. Prior to beginning the program, the student takes a pre-test to determine their performance level. Next the program develops activities for the students to do to improve their skills, when the activities are mastered they move to the next level. The students enjoy the activities and learning becomes fun! SuccessMaker is one of many tools used at Rex Elementary to improve academics.

 

School Contact Is Important

Our kids need our involvement in their lives. They may complain and say, "we do not trust them," but in reality we only want to be sure they are making correct choices.

 

Most of the Rex teachers have some form of weekly communication with parents; usually a folder or an agenda. Don't hesitate to contact the teacher or Principal Brian Howard if you want to know how your child is doing, what their behavior has been like, or even to know their reading and math levels. To reach Mr. Howard, email bhoward@usd261.com.

 

Volunteer Opportunities at Rex Elementary

Mentor: Have lunch with a child once a week! Quality time in this one-on-one relationship can help students in many areas that affect life at home and at school.

Tutor: Help a child be successful in school by tutoring them during the school day.

Guest Speaker: Visit a classroom to give a presentation and answer questions about careers or your topic of interest.

Student Interest Group: You can share a talent or a special interest with a group of students such as sports, crafts, or you can talk about topics of interest to the students. Usually this is a once-a-week commitment for six weeks during the students lunch and lunch recess.

Special Events: Help Communities in Schools and Rex Elementary with school-wide events.

Supplies or Drives: You can also help our Rex students and their families by participating in our school drives by donating much needed miscellaneous items such as backpacks, school supplies, clothing, food, etc.

 

Please Help Our School

BOXTOPS: Can be found on General Mills products. Please have your student bring in box tops and put them in the box top box in their classroom for a chance at classroom parties!

MY COKE REWARDS: Can be found on 12 packs, 24 packs, and bottle caps of all Coke products. Please have your student bring these to the office or Mrs. Thrash the school counselor.

CAMPBELLS SOUP LABELS: These can be found on all Campbell’s soup. Please have your student bring these to the office.
Collecting these items found on products used daily greatly helps your school! Please remind friends and family to collect these also!

 

Volunteer Guidelines Volunteer Application