• Home
  • Policies
  • PTO
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

Welcome to the Prairie Elementary Website!

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

January 2017

 

Newsletter Archives

 


Classroom Newsletters

Pre-Kindergarten Newsletters

Kindergarten Newsletters

1st Grade Newsletters

2nd Grade Newsletters

3rd Grade Newsletters

4th Grade Newsletters

5th Grade Newsletters

Band Website

News Highlights


Prairie Anniversary Design Contest

 

Prairie Night at Sonic

 

Order a Yearbook


 

 

Upcoming Events


 

How We Do It


 

School Hours

School hours are from 8:25 AM - 3:50 PM. The doors open at 8:05 AM.  Students may eat breakfast at this time or wait in the cafeteria for the hallway doors to open at 8:15 AM. School is in session until 3:50 PM each day. For your convenience, you are welcome to sit in the cafeteria area to wait for your children to be dismissed from their classes. Thank you for your cooperation in helping to keep our hallways clear and our students safe.

 

Wednesday Folders

We will be sending all regular weekly communications home in Wednesday Folders. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have viewed them, and then return the folder promptly on Thursday. If you represent an organization which may be sending notes home with students, please be sure these notes are approved for distribution by the central office and that they arrive at school before Monday to be sent home on a Wednesday.

 

Family Rights and Privacy Act

USD 261 will be releasing information and photos to the media throughout the coming school year of various activities and rograms. Under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, disclosure without prior consent is permitted by law, including the following directory information: name, address, telephone number, and photographs. You have the right to refuse to permit the release of any or all of the above information. If you refuse, you must give
written notification to this effect to the Superintendent of Schools for USD261, 1745 West Grand, Haysville, KS 67060 on or before August 25, 2015. If refusal is not filed, USD261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the information designated or photos.

 

Parking Lot Procedures

Student safety is our first priority at Prairie. We want to make sure students are able to enter and exit the building in a safe and orderly manner each and every day. To accommodate an increase in drop-off and pick-up traffice we need your assistance with traffic flow.

  • Our school buses need to have an unobstructed path to enter and exit school property. Patrons can assist by parking in the parking stalls.
  • If you do not leave your vehicle to drop off or pick up, please use the driveway closest to the front doors. We do not want children running through lines of traffic to reach your vehicle.
  • If exiting your vehicle to drop off, please park and walk your child(ren) into the school or up to the front doors.
  • If exiting your vehicle to pick up, please park and walk up to the front entrance to pick up your child(ren). Use the designated cross-walk area whenever possible.
  • We do not want children running through lines of traffic to reach your vehicle.
  • Lastly, please be respectful of our staff who are monitoring arrival and dismissal.

Thank you for following the above guidelines to keep our students safe.

 

Parking Lot Procedures

 

 

Policies

 

Elementary

Parent/Student

Handbook

 

School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM

 

School Mascot:

Bulldog

 

School Colors:

Orange and Purple

 

School Mission:

At Prairie we believe in:

Building foundations for

Ultimate

Life-long

Learners

Dedicated to

Ongoing

Growth and

Success.

Parents May Request Teacher Qualifications

Each school year, any parent who has a child attending any school receiving Title I funds may request and receive, in a timely manner, information regarding the professional qualifications of the student's classroom teachers. In addition, the parents may also ask whether the child is provided services by a paraprofessional and if so, his or her qualifications. Get a request form

 

 

 

PTO


JOIN P.T.O. NOW!

$10 Silver Membership: 1 voting right.

$15 Gold Membership: 1 voting right and a t-shirt.

If you would like to become a member, forms are available in the office or email prairie.elementary.pto@gmail.com.

 

 

PTO Officers

Office 2016-17

President:

Matt Brown

Secretary: Krystal Kenrick
Treasurer: Diania Pile

 

PTO Meetings

PTO meets on the third Thursday of each month. The meetings are at 6 PM at Prairie Elementary in the PTO/Band room. Please park in the side parking lot and enter through the PTO/Band door.

Next PTO meeting is January 19 at 6 PM.

 

What's Happening....

 

Prairie Skate Nights

Bring your family and join your friends at Roller City on South Meridian! Prairie PTO has reserved the skating rink from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM for Prairie Skate Nights on the following dates: January 30, February 20, and April 17.

 

Box Tops
We are still collecting box tops.  Box tops can be found on hundreds of products.  Our school earns money that we use towards school activites.  Each box top is worth 10 cents for our school!

 

PTO Bulletin Board

The PTO Bulletin Board is located inside the main entry doors. A schedule of the events as well as other important information can be found here.

 

 

 

 

Staff 2012-2013


POSITION NAME EMAIL
Principal Dr. David Engelking dengelking@usd261.com
Secretary Janice Dreher jdreher@usd261.com
  Jennifer Warrington jwar@usd261.com
School Nurse LeAnn Lewman llewman@usd261.com
Counselor Lisa McKeown lmckeown@usd261.com 
Psychologist Angie Howard ahoward@usd261.com
CIS Janelle Durham jdurham@usd261.com
MEDIA CENTER    
Librarian Debra Vance dvance@usd261.com 
Library Clerk Lillian Small lsmall@usd261.com
TEACHERS    
Kindergarten Glynis Barnes gbarnes@usd261.com
  Kathy Clark-Brooks kclarkbrooks@usd261.com
  Cortney Debenham cdebenham@usd261.com
  Shaylin King sking@usd261.com
First Grade Kari McGregor kmcgregor@usd261.com
  Diania Pile dpile@usd261.com
  Jeanne Rudd jrudd@usd261.com
  Lisa Strohm lstrohm@usd261.com
Second Grade Linse DeCamp ldecamp@usd261.com
  Stacy Eskandarion seskandarion@usd261.com
  Stephanie High shigh@usd261.com
  Ashlyn Whaley awhaley@usd261.com
Third Grade Rhonda Armstead rarmstead@usd261.com
  Michele Rice mrice@usd261.com 
  Keely Scarboro kscarboro@usd261.com
  Hollie Strobach hstrobach@usd261.com
Fourth Grade Noel Adamson nadamson@usd261.com
  Stacy Russell swestfall@usd261.com
  Tennille Sacquitne tsacquitne@usd261.com
Fifth Grade Chanelle Hilyard chilyard@usd261.com
  Jaime Kondo jkondo@usd261.com
  Vicky Scheuermann vscheuermann@usd261.com
ELECTIVES    
Band Emily Cox view website ecox@usd261.com
Music Lisa Nugen lnugen@usd261.com
Orchestra Laurien Taton view website ltaton@usd261.com
PE Crysta Snow crsnow@usd261.com
Technology Evie Unrein eunrein@usd261.com
LRS Teacher Marnie Trotter mtrotter@usd261.com
LRS Para Cindy Dickerson cdickerson@usd261.com
SPED    
Life Skills Teri Zehr tzehr@usd261.com
Speech Hilary Waters hwaters@usd261.com
Speech Sharon Brock sbrock@usd261.com
IR, K-1 Krystal Kenrick kkenrick@usd261.com
IR, , 2-3 Andi Houser ahouser@usd261.com
IR, 4-5 Connie Jacobs cjacobs@usd261.com
Gifted Sally Holliday sholiday@usd261.com
PARAS    
Bldg/SPED Crystal Arrington carrington@usd261.com
SPED Pam Barber pbarber@usd261.com
Para Life Skills Laura Beck lbeck@usd261.com
SPED Pam Barber pbarber@usd261.com
SPED Danielle Brown dbrown@usd261.com
Speech Nancy Cain ncain@usd261.com
ESOL Karen Chan kchan@usd261.com
Bldg Korina Claar kclaar@usd261.com
Bldg/SPED Stacy Crafton scrafton@usd261.com
LF-Title Cindy Dickerson cdickerson@usd261.com
Bldg/SPED Tiffany Graf tgraf@usd261.com
Para Life Skills Sierra Ruiz sruiz@usd261.com
SPED Chelsie Keck ckeck@usd261.com
SPED Karin Lindsay klindsay@usd261.com
Bldg Karen Maynor kmaynow@usd261.com
Interventionist Deserae Nelson dnelson@usd261.com
Bldg Amy McCoskey amccoskey@usd261.com
Para LIfe Skills Bernadette Porter bporter@usd261.com
Para Life Skills Sierra Ruiz sruiz@usd261.com
Para LifeSkills Chad Schulte cschulte@usd261.com
Bldg/SPED Dandi Smith dsmith@usd261.com
SPED Donna White dwhite@usd261.com
SPED Rachel White rwhite@usd261.com
SPED Christina Wood cwood@usd261.com
SPED Stephanie Young syoung@usd261.com
     
KITCHEN STAFF    
Manager Sue Mieske smieske@usd261.com
Servers Loren Kampe lkampe@usd261.com
  Stacy Storlie sstorlie@usd261.com
     
CUSTODIANS    
Head Custodian Melinda Goff mgoff@usd261.com
Night Custodian James Blasenhauer  
Night Custodian Deb Hamm  
Night Custodian Erica Church  

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Us


 

Prairie Elementary

 

In the Office:

 

Dr. David Engelking, Principal

email: dengelking@usd261.com

Janice Dreher, Secretary
e-mail: jdreher@usd261.com


Jennifer Warrington, Secretary
e-mail: jwar@usd261.com

 

Health Room:

Leann Lewman, RN

email: llewman@usd261.com

 

Office Hours::

 

Monday - Friday

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Prairie Elementary School

7101 S. Meridian

Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2350

Fax: 316-554-2357

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Office Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

 

Principal, David Engelking

From the Principal - Dr. David Engelking

 

Thank you for checking in with us on the Prairie website. 

We’re looking forward to another great year at Prairie Elementary.  Last year was a very productive year for students and staff.  We made a commitment to get ourselves off of school improvement and we did it. Our dedicated staff and hard-working students performed at a very high level throughout the year.  Third, fourth, and fifth grade students scored higher than ever before on state Math and Reading assessments. As you can see from the graphs below, Prairie students have made very measurable improvements over the past two years.  We have established a new, and much higher, academic standard for student performance. All Prairie stakeholders should be very proud of where our students are headed as we enter a new school year.

 

 

Reading Assessments

 

Math Assessment Results

 

 

Student Links


 

Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

 

News


Mark Your Calendars: January No School Dates

January 13: End of Nine Weeks

January 16: Non-contract Day

January 27: Building Inservice Day

See the District Calendar for additional No School Dates.

 

Design Contest Winner - Gaige Pfrenger

Principal Dr. Engelking posed with fifth grader Gaige Pfrenger. Gaige's design was selected from 85 entries from fourth and fifth graders to be on a T-shirt to celebrate Prairie's 10th anniversary.

 

 

Order a Yearbook

Order forms will be sent home soon in Wednesday folders. Orders will be due January 23. Orders may be placed online at YBPAY.LIFETOUCH.COM using yearbook ID code 7714417.

 

Counselor's Corner - Build Healthy Relationships

Jim Fay and Dr. Charles Fay, authors of Love and Logic, remind us to focus on the following to help build healthy relationships with our children . . .

  • Focus mostly on your child's strengths rather than their weaknesses.
  • Smile at them as often as possible.
  • Write them little notes that tell them how much you adore them.
  • Greet them each day with a hug or high five.
  • Make sure they overhear you talking about how much you love them.
  • Deliver consequences with sincere empathy.

Learn more, go to www.loveandlogic.com

 

Prairie Skate Nights

Bring your family and join your friends at Roller City on South Meridian! Prairie PTO has reserved the skating rink from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM for Prairie Skate Nights on the following dates: January 30, February 20, and April 17.

 

T-Shirts

PTO is selling school T-shirts for $10 each. The sizes range from Youth Small to Adult XL. Turn your order into the office.

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

SchoolMessenger Notification System

Haysville School District utilizes SchoolMessenger as our district notification system. This sytem is capable of placing thousands of calls in just a matter of minutes. In order for this system to be successful, it is vital that the schools have accurate contact numbers at all times.

Important: When you receive a SchoolMessenger call, you will also receive an email with the message embedded. If you miss the call, check your email to hear the message.

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT

 

 

Volunteer

Volunteer Application Volunteer Guidelines

Box Tops For Education

Prairie Boxtops for EducationElementary participates in the Boxtops for Education Program. Bring your boxtops and labels to the school office. PTO earns 10 cents for each box top.

 

Your Shopping Helps Our School

If you shop at Target or Office Depot, you could be helping the students at Prairie.

Use your Target Visa Credit Card and Target will donate 1% of your total purchase to our school. Make sure to share Prairie’s id number, which is 126593.

Office Depot will donate 5% of qualifying purchases when we give our school id number #70216039.