What is Parents As Teachers?

Parents as Teachers is here to help you!

Parents as Teachers (PAT) is a parent education and family support program serving families throughout pregnancy until their child reaches the age of 3.

Parents are supported by PAT-certified parent educators trained to translate scientific information on early brain development into specific when, what, how and why advice for families. By understanding what to expect during each stage of development, parents can easily capture the teachable moments in everyday life to enhance their child's language development, intellectual growth, social development and motor skills

As a PAT family, you receive:

Personal Visits - during which your parent educator will share age-appropriate child development and parenting information, help you learn to observe your child, and address your parenting concerns.

Parent group meetings -- which are opportunities to share information about parenting issues and child development. Parents learn and support each other, observe their children with other children and practiceparenting skills.

Screenings -- to assess your child's overall development as well as health, hearing and vision. Resource network -- that links your family to other community services.

To receive emails of PAT reminders and announcements, please e-mail Amy at asheler@usd261.com or call 554-2303.

Visit the National Parents As Teachers Website

 

Bridge to Bright Beginnings

A parent-child class for children who have turned 3 and are no longer eligible for Parents as Teachers. Children attend a once-a-week structured class with a parent or other adult caregiver. In the class and in at-home assignments, children work on mastering the state standards for 3-year-olds in fun effective ways. Cost for the class is only $12 and, while slots are limited, anyone in U.S.D. #261 with a 3-year-old is eligible to participate. Call 554-2303 to enroll.

2016-2017 Classes

 

Free Screenings

The Haysville USD 261 Parents as Teachers program offers free developmental screenings for anyone living in the Haysville School District who has a child between the ages of birth and age 3 years. Screenings can be done in child's home at a convenient time. To schedule a screening, call the Parents as Teachers office at 554-2303.

Our Mission:

To provide the information, support and encouragement parents need to help their children develop optimally during the crucial early years of life.

Look What's Happening

Mega Mondays beginning September 12

Play Groups

Where: PAT I.D.E.A. Room
When: Mondays beginning September 12
Time: 9:30 AM & 11:00 AM
Cost: No Cost to Attend

Playgroups

Book Look Boogie

Where: Haysville Community Library
When: Tuesdays beginning September 6
Time: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Cost: No Cost to Attend

Growing Cooks

Growing Cooks

This activity is for parent and child
Where: The Learning Center Kitchen
When: November 4 & February 24
Time: 9:30 AM & 10:30 AM
Cost: No Cost to Attend
Space is limited to 12 cooks per class
RSVP is required.

Monthly Activity

 

PAT Mom's Meal

See All Special Activities

Our Staff

Emily Goetz, Director email: egoetz@usd261.com
Amy Sheler, Secretary email: asheler@usd261.com
Alison Gonzalez, Teacher email: agonzalez@usd261.com
Joelle Good, Teacher email: jgood@usd261.com
Kim Schoenfeld, Teacher email: kschoenfeld@usd261.com
Stephanie Taylor, Teacher email: staylor@usd261.com

Contact Us

Parents As Teachers
134 Stewart
Haysville, KS 67060
P: (316) 554-2303
F: (316) 554-2342

Program Director:
Emily Goetz