• Home
  • Policies
  • PTA
  • Staff
  • Contact Us
  • Students
  • News

Welcome to the Nelson Elementary Website!

Newsletters


Get all the school news and pertinent information from the School Newsletter. The newsletter is published monthly.

 

January Newsletter

 

Newsletter Archives

 

News Highlights


Capturing Kids Hearts Recognizes Nelson School

 

End of NIne Weeks

 

Casual and Group Pictures

 

PTA Movie Night

 

Building Inservice Day

 

A Journey to Student Success at Nelson

pdf

PowerPoint

 


 

Upcoming Events


notebooks


 

How We Do It


 

School Hours

School starts at 8:25 AM and dismisses at 3:50 PM for grades 1-5. There is no adult supervision available for students until 8:00 AM unless you take Latchkey services. In the morning, students should enter the building through the front doors. Students who arrive between 8:00 AM and 8:15 AM, should report to the gym for "Morning Walk Time."

 

Pre-K Students attend half day classes. AM session is from 8:25 AM - 11:25 AM, PM session is from 12:50 - 3:50 PM.

Pre-K students who do not eat lunch at school should not be dropped off until 12:30 PM. Your help in these matters are greatly appreciated.

 

Wednesday Folders

We wil send all regular weekly communications home in Wednesday Folders. Please be sure to check the contents of the folder each week, sign that you have viewed them, and then return the folder promptly on Thursday. If you represent an organization which may be sending notes home with students, please be sure these notes are approved for distribution by the central office and that they arrive at school before Monday to be sent home on Wednesday.

 

Child Not Coming To School ...Notify Us

Please remember to call the office when your student will not be in school because of illness or appointments by 8:45 AM. Our phone number is 554- 2273. Also, please have your child come to the office to sign in if they arrive after 8:25 AM. We will again be utilizing an attendance recognition program to help keep our attendance rates up.

 

B.E.S.T. (Bullying Ends Starting Today!)

Nelson Elementary will be using the Olweus Bullying Prevention program. This research based program reduces bullying in schools. It also helps make school a safer, more positive place where students can learn.
What is bullying? Hitting, name-calling, exclusion, or other behavior that is meant to hurt. Bullying is carried out by someone who has more power over someone who has less power.

What are the effects of bullying? Bullying affects both targets and bullies. Targets of bullying are more likely to grow up depressed and anxious. Bullies are much more likely than nonbullies to become adult criminals.

The Olweus Bullying Prevention Program prevents or reduces bullying at the elementary level. It is not a curriculum, but a program that deals with bullying at the schoolwide, classroom, individual, and community levels.

Talk About It! Visit with your student about B.E.S.T.
Our staff will work hard to keep all Nelson families connected. Please feel free to contact the school if you have any questions/concerns.

 

Nelson Drive Procedures - Safety First

1. Please do not park in the crosswalk areas or utilize the handicap parking except for what it is intended.

2. The drive is one way - 2 lanes going from the North to the South. Please follow the arrows and signs.

3. The drive is only a loading and unloading area for students (No parking - It is a fire zone)

4. All loading and unloading should be done on the right side / building side.

5. We do have parking spaces designated as visitor parking at the very front of the building which can be used to drop off and pick up students as well.

6. The south playground is now fenced in. The fence is for the safety of your children. The south drive is no longer a one way.

 

District Wellness Program

The Haysville School District has adopted a wellness plan to help improve the health and well-being of our students. Parents are asked to assist us by following guidelines for providing healthy items in their child's sack lunch as well as healthy snacks for parties and special occasions. While parties are a time to celebrate, providing healthy items can still be fun. This also includes morning snacks which are sent with children on a regular basis. When providing beverages, please refrain from sending high calorie beverages or soft
drinks. Approved snacks include the following items: Cereal bars, Trail mix, Granola Bars, Crackers with cheese, Rice Krispie treats, fruit snacks, fresh fruit, raisins, or other dried fruit, beef jerky, rice snacks, animal crackers, pretzels, vegetables, or similar items. In addition, students will have the opportunity to participate in our morning walking program. Also note, that we have many Nelson Students with Peanut Allergies so please do not bring anything with Peanuts or anything cooked in Peanut oil. If you have any questions about this, give us a call.

 

Family Rights and Privacy Act

USD 261 will be releasing information and photos to the media throughout the coming school year of various activities and rograms. Under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, disclosure without prior consent is permitted by law, including the following directory information: name, address, telephone number, and photographs. You have the right to refuse to permit the release of any or all of the above information. If you refuse, you must give written notification to this effect to the Superintendent of Schools for USD261, 1745 West Grand, Haysville, KS 67060. If refusal is not filed, USD261 assumes there is no objection to the release of the information designated or photos.

 

 

Policies

Elementary Parent/Student Handbook

 

 

School Hours:

8:25 AM - 3:50 PM

 

AM Pre-K:
8:25 AM - 11:25 AM

PM Pre-K:
12:50 PM - 3:50 PM

 

 

School Mascot:

Shark

 

School Colors:

Blue and White

 

School Motto:

"The Ocean of Learning"

 

School Mission Statement:

To challenge all students with learning opportunities through quality instruction in order to prepare them

to be life-long learners and

responsible citizens.

 

 

 

PTA


Get Involved in Your Child's Education

 

Executive P.T.A. Meeting: TBA at 7:00 PM, in the Media Center.

 

PTA Movie Night: Friday, January 20 at 6:30 PM

 

SAVE, SAVE, SAVE

We are collecting the following items to raise money for Nelson:

Box Tops

Campbell's soup labels

Foil drink pouches (ex. Capri Sun)

Frito Lay Chip bags (any size)

Oreo cookie packaging

Mars candy bar wrappers

 

When sending in foil drink pouches, it would be great if you would slit open the bottom and rinse the pouch, when they have dried send them to school with your child. When sending in more than 100, please bundle in groups of 50. If you have any questions, contact Kim Thompson at 554-2273.

 

 

 

 

Staff 2012-2013


 

Office
Mitchener, Mike Principal mmitch@usd261.com
Waters, Jackie Secretary jwaters@usd261.com
Novak, Renee Attendance Secretary rnovak@usd261.com
     
Means, Crystal Counselor cmeans@usd261.com
Picard, Judith Psychologist jpicard@usd261.com
     
Health Room
Blanc, Vanessa Health Room vblanc@usd261.com
     
Media Center
Lee, Patsy Librarian plee@usd261.com
Carter, Heather Library Aide hcarter@usd261.com
Kilmer, Rhonda Library Aide rkilmer@usd261.com
     
Teachers
Bailey, Suzanne Pre-K sbailey@usd261.com
Holt, Christi Pre-K mcholt@usd261.com
Meyer, Kay Pre-K kmeyer@usd261.com
Anderson, Joyce Kindergarten kjanderson@usd261.com
Garner, Ashley Kindergarten agarner@usd261.com
Shipman, Susan Kindergarten sshipman@usd261.com
Waterman, Desiree Kindergarten dwaterma@usd261.com
Cotton, Kasahra First Grade kcotton@usd261.com
Eason, Rebecca First Grade reason@usd261.com
Hall, Kim First Grade khall@usd261.com
Creekmore, Cindy Second Grade cilong@usd261.com
Ledbetter, Cassandra First Grade cledbetter@usd261.com
Matteson, Carol Second Grade cmatteson@usd261.com
O'Brien, Georgia Second Grade gobrien@usd261.com
Batt, Leanne Third Grade lbatt@usd261.com
Painchaud, Stacy Third Grade spainchaud@usd261.com
Rice, Nicole Third Grade nrice@usd261.com
Knolla, Sarah Fourth Grade sknolla@usd261.com
McCoy, Jody Fourth Grade jmccoy@usd261.com
Van Bruggen, Ciara Fourth Grade cvanbruggen@usd261.com
Westeman, Raegan Fourth Grade rwesteman@usd261.com
Friesen, Micah Fifth Grade mfriesen@usd261.com
Garten, Ashley Fifth Grade agarten@usd261.com
Hovey, Kim Fifth Grade khovey@usd261.com
Cox, Emily Band view website ecox@usd261.com
Crum, Steve Computer scrum@usd261.com

Duling, Mary

P.E. mduling@usd261.com
Ferguson, Renee Speech Pre-K - 3 rferguson@usd261.com
Jeardoe, Karla Gifted kjeardoe@usd261.com
McGuiness, Lori Speech 4-5 lmcguiness@usd261.com
Miller, Teresa Learning Facilitator tmiller@usd261.com
Reid, Alyssa HI areid@usd261.com
Richert, Julie Vocal jrichert@usd261.com
Sutton, Marcie Resource K-2 msutton@usd261.com
Taton, Laurien Strings view website ltaton@usd261.com
Whitfield, Deb Resource 2-3 dwhitfield@usd261.com
Yarbrough, Lauana Resource 3-5 lyarbrou@usd261.com
     
Paras:
Alexander, Crystal Pre-K Para calexander@usd261.com
Blaha, Cathy SPED Para cblaha@usd261.com
Calvert, Carla SPED Para ccalvert@usd261.com
Dandurand, Betty ESL Para bdandurand@usd261.com
Dice, Jamie SPED Para jdice@usd261.com
Domebo, Sabrenia Resource Para sdomebo@usd261.com
Dunn, Martha Pre-K Para mdunn@usd261.com
Ehrlich, Katie Hearing Intepreter kehrlich@usd261.com
Ehrlich, Stephanie Hearing Intepreter sehrlich@usd261.com
Ewert, Pat Para pewert@usd261.com
George, Sharon Title 1 Para sgeorge@usd261.com
Gordin, Mandy Pre-K Para mgordin@usd261.com
Konklin, Heather Hearing Intepreter hkonklin@usd261.com
Lemmons, Marilyn LD Para mlemmons@usd261.com
Mayfield, Donna Hearing Intepreter dmayfield@usd261.com
Payne, Patricia Speech Para ppayne@usd261.com
Swain, Labrenda Resource Para lswain@usd261.com
Thompson, Kim LD Para kthompson@usd261.com
     
Custodians
Brannan, Jeremy Custodian  
Holton, Scott Custodian  
Jones, Connie Custodian  
Wilson-Gordon, Nora Custodian  
     
Kitchen
Holton, Marti Kitchen Manager mholton@usd261.com
Barkley, Rebecca Kitchen  
Gregg, Amanda Kitchen  
Hazen, Connie Kitchen  
     
Support
Gordin, Mariah Lunchroom Supervision/ISS mgordin@usd261.com
Holloway, Brenda Playground Supervision bholloway@usd261.com
Holmes, Christina Lunchroom Supervision cholmes@usd261.com
Keith, Kari Playground Supervision kkeith@usd261.com
Walston, Missy Playground Supervision mwalston@usd261.com
Zimmerling, Joyce Lunchroom Supervision jzimmerling@usd261.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Us


 

 

 

Nelson Elementary School

 

In the Office:

 

Mr. Mike Mitchener, Principal

email: mmitch@usd261.com

Jackie Waters, Secretary
e-mail: jwaters@usd261.com

 

Renee Novak, Secretary
email: rnovak@usd261.com

 

Health Room:

Vanessa Blanc, MA

email: vblanc@usd261.com

 

Office Hours:

 

Monday - Friday

7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Nelson Elementary School

 

245 N. Delos

Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2273

Fax: 316-554-2275

 

U.S.D. 261 Administration Building

 

1745 W. Grand
Haysville, KS 67060

 

Telephone: 316-554-2200
Fax: 316-554-2230

 

Office Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Students


 

Student Links Calendar Homework Help PowerSchool Menus Britannica School Libraries Online Bus Routes TumbleBooks Library

 

 

 

News


Read All The News In The Monthly Newsletter

 

Capturing Kids Hearts Recognizes Nelson School

Capturing Kids' HeartsNelson Elementary School has been nominated by the Flippen Group to receive a Capturing Kidsí Hearts National Showcase SchoolsTM award for the 2016-2017 school year.

Three years ago, Nelson Elementary School began an initiative to transform its campus into an emotionally safe and relationally connected place for students, staff, and parents to come alive with a love for learning.

After researching programs used by some of the nationís most successful schools, Nelson Elementary School leaders chose to join hands with the Flippen Group to bring Capturing Kidsí Hearts? to its campus. Teachers and staff have learned processes to connect students with their peers and adults on campus, and to create classrooms where students are excited to enter and learn every day. As a result of implementing Capturing Kidsí Hearts, Nelson Elementary School has enjoyed creating a positive and productive learning environment and nearly an 83% reduction in office referrals.

 

January No School Dates:

January 13: End of Semester

January 16: Non-contract Day

January 27: Building Inservice

 

See the District Calendar for additional No School Dates.

 

Casual & Group Picture Day - January 19

All students will have their picture taken. Parents will be sent a preview of the casual pictures before purchasing a packet. Group pictures must be paid for on or before picture day. Additional information will be sent home soon.

 

Attendance and Punctuality Reminder

We would ask the help of all in keeping our punctuality and attendance rate high at Nelson School. Good Punctuality and Attendance is very important for student academic and social success. School starts promptly at 8:25 a.m.. We only have a few weeks until State Assessments. We want students to do their very best and every minute of instruction time does count. We realize that it is not always possible to be here everyday due to illness, etc; but we desire to have students here everyday possible. Thank you for your help in this very important endeavor.

 

Thank You For Participating in Food Drive

We would like to thank all of those who were able to donate to the Nelson Food Drive right before break! Thanks to your efforts, Nelson School brought in over 2, 500 food items for needy families around the area. Also, congratulations go out to Mr. Friesenís 5th Grade Class for bringing in the most items. They will be treated soon to a pizza lunch away from the building. Way to go!!!

 

P.T.A. Movie Night - January 20 - 6:30 PM

Bring your family! Popcorn and treats will be available for purchase.

 

Receive District Text Messages

U.S.D. 261 is happy to announce that text messaging is available for all our school calls! There are strict guidelines that have to be followed and text messages
can only be sent to those who have opted in. So, if you would like to receive text messages, please text the word “YES” via short code (67587). We look forward to this form of communication as another means of keeping everyone up to date on critical matters.

 

Foster Grandparents Make A Difference

We are most fortunate at Nelson Elementary to have three Foster Grandparents, Grandma Capsa Reed, Grandma Deloris Massey, and Grandpa Phil Blodgett! They work with students in small group settings on specific Reading and Math skills and they do make a difference! We say thanks Foster Grandparents!!

 

Site Council Meetings

We encourage parents to be actively involved in the education of their child/children. An opportunity to do this in addition to P.T.A. is by serving on our Site Council. Site Council is an advisory group for the school which participates in the school's important decision making process.

 

TAPS Program

TAPS (Teaching Assessment Preparation Skills) is for 3-5 grade students who may need extra help in specific skill areas. TAPS meets Monday - Thursday (no Fridays) from September19 through March 9, from 3:45 - 4:45 PM. If you have any questions about TAPS, please visit with your childs classroom teacher or contact Cindy Creekmore, Nelson TAPS Coordinator. Taps will not be in session on Oct. 24-27, Nov. 21-22, Dec. 19-22, Jan. 16, Feb. 13-16, and Feb. 20.

 

Emergency Safety Interventions Policy

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI''). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

 

Volunteer Background Checks

Anyone who will be working in the building or going on field trips, etc. as a volunteer must have a background check. This is a standard procedure which helps secure the safety of all our Nelson students. If you will be volunteering this year, or if it has been over 2 years since submitting an application, complete the Background Check application and return it to the teacher or office promptly. Please do not wait until the day before an activity to turn the form in, as processing sometimes takes several days.

 

Accelerated Reader and Math

Now you can check your child's progress in Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math from home. Renaissance Learning has released a Home Connect program. Follow this link and use the same log in information your child uses at school. Click Here for HOME CONNECT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oatville Archives