Hawk Proud

Haysville Middle School has been nominated to be a Capturing Kids' Hearts National Showcase School for 2017-18. Capturing Kids' Hearts and the Flippen Group provides processes for teachers and staff to connect students with their peers and adults on campus, and to create classrooms where students are excited to enter and learn every day, creating a positive and productive learning environment.

Haysville USD 261 is the FIRST school district in the country to have every school as a nominee.

Mark Your Calendars

March 9: No School - End of Nine Weeks

March 19 - 23: No School - Spring Break

March 30 - April 2: No School - Non-contract Days


print a revised calendar

Spring Break


If your phone is capable of receiving emails and you have a photo gallery, you can keep your I.D. card on your phone.

Create my Mobile I.D. Card

Kansas regulations now require that we provide all parents with notice of policies regarding Emergency Safety Interventions ("ESI"). The State of Kansas policy is available on our website and in our student handbooks. In addition, we will provide a copy of the policy at any time upon request.

Get Kansas policy here

Come out to the Haysville Sonic on the last Tuesday of the month between the hours of 5-8 pm. A portion of the proceeds from those sales during those hours will go to HMS. The proceeds help fund our "Go Do It" activities and purchase gift cards that students can buy with their Hawk Bucks.

QR Code

Access HMS information quick and easy!

The app is available in the App Store or Google play for FREE.

If you plan to participate in Fall athletics, you will need a current physical (dated after May 1) before participating in practice. There is a $20 fee per sport.

Haysville Middle School would like to get the word out on an easy way to raise funds for our athletic programs through Dillons Community Rewards. It is absolutely NO COST to you and all it requires is an active email address and your Dillons Plus Card. Follow the instructions below to get started and thank you for helping our programs!

Program Instructions


Shop our online store


Shop our online store

We want you to be involved at Haysville Middle School. To keep you informed, we use several tools to communicate with our families and community. Those tools include this website, our mobile app, SchoolReach, PowerSchool, and email.


On the Calendar

Download our mobile app

School Facts

Principal: Dr. Mike Maurer

Student Enrollment: 724

Grade Levels: 6-8

Feeder Schools: Rex, Freeman, Nelson and Ruth Clark Elementary Schools

School Colors: Red, White, and Black

Mascot: Hawk

Member of the Pioneer League for Activities

Bell Schedule

1st Hour 7:35 - 8:25
2nd Hour 8:29 - 9:15
3rd Hour 9:19 - 10:05
4th Hour 10:09 - 10:55
5th Hour 10:59 - 12:29
6th Hour 12:33 - 1:19
7th Hour 1:23 - 2:09
8th Hour 2:13 - 2:50
Haysville Middle School

The MISSION of Haysville Middle School, in partnership with the greater community, is to challenge and empower all students to become lifelong learners and contributing citizens in our changing world.

Staff List

View Staff List for email addresses and teacher websites.

Administrators at Haysville Middle School
L-R: Mr. Halling, Dr. Maurer, Mrs. Glover

HMS Administrators

Dr. Mike Maurer, Principal
email: mmaurer@usd261.com

Samantha Glover, Assistant Principal
email: sglover@usd261.com

Jason Halling, Athletic Director
email: jhalling@usd261.com

Cindy Williams

Principal's Secretary

email: cwilliams@usd261.com


Susan Bohanan

Athletic Secretary

email: sbohanan@usd261.com


Cathy Branum

Attendance Secretary

email: cbranum@usd261.com

Administrators at Haysville Middle School
L-R: Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Hollis, Mrs. Brown, Ms. Plett, Mrs. Streit

HMS Counseling Department

Virginia Plett, Counselor
email: vplett@usd261.com

Sharon Streit, Counselor
email: sstreit@usd261.com

Brad Johnson, Psychologist
email: bjohnson@usd261.com

Shari Brown, IEP Writer
email: shbrown@usd261.com

Judy Hollis, Registrar/Secretary
email: jhollis@usd261.com