About USD 261

map of Kansas

The Haysville School System is the 18th largest Kansas School district and combines the personalized spirit of a small town with a top-notch staff, curriculum and facilities normally associated with larger communities. With care and individual attention, we focus on putting each student on the road to a lifetime of learning.

Encompassing 36 square miles of south-central Sedgwick County, the Haysville School District (USD 261) draws students from a wide range of urban and rural backgrounds to create a rich, well-blended student body. Our curriculum, designed to meet each student's educational needs, emphasizes the core academic areas of reading, math, science, and social studies, while incorporating all State of Kansas standards for education and reflecting national curriculum reform efforts. Our schools offer a safe learning environment with excellent teachers and staff focused on the success of their students. To meet the unique needs of each learner, the academic progress of students is monitored for early intervention.


Dr. John Burke, Superintendent

Dr. John Burke, Superintendent

District Facts

2018-19 Enrollment: 5700 Students

Attendance Centers
6 Elementary Schools (Grades Pre-K - 5)
2 Middle Schools (Grades 6 - 8)
1 High School (Grades 9 - 12)
3 Specialty Facilities


International Baccalaureate Program

International Baccalaureate Program

Campus High School offers the prestigious International Baccalaureate Diploma program. Any student from throughout the surrounding area is eligible to apply to enroll in the school and participate in the program. International Baccalaureate schools offer an integrated approach to college preparation that includes not only challenging coursework, but also develops a global perspective and awareness that will be critical to the success of students as they prepare for the changing and emerging careers of this century. Learn more...

District News & Highlights

Capturing Kids' Hearts National Showcase District

Capturing Kids' Hearts National Showcase Schools

Haysville USD 261 has once again been honored with two national awards recognizing and celebrating teachers and staff that go the extra mile each day by creating a safe environment where students are connected and eager to learn.

For the second year in a row, all 10 of Haysville schools received the Flippen Group's Capturing Kids' Hearts National Showcase School award and the district received the Capturing Kids' Hearts National Showcase District award. Haysville USD 261 is the only district in the nation to win this award two years in a row!

“I am so proud of the Haysville USD 261 faculty, staff, students and administrators for being named a Capturing Kids Hearts National Showcase District two years in a row,” said Superintendent Dr. John Burke. “This program empowers everyone to treat others with kindness and respect. The district has embraced the Capturing Kids Hearts program in every school and department. This focus on developing mutual respect has improved relationships between all stakeholders.”

Michelle Ramirez Receives KSDE Horizon Award

Freeman Elementary Teacher Hiliary Cosgrove Receives Horizon Award

Nelson Elementary Third Grade Teacher Michelle Ramirez has been named a 2019 Horizon Award winner. This award is intended to recognize exemplary first-year teachers in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding. This award provides each district the opportunity to encourage, recognize, and reward new members of the profession.

Caption - Haysville USD 261 Superintendent Dr. John Burke (left) and Nelson Elementary School Principal Mike Mitchener (right) were included in the call announcing Ramirez was named as a 2019 Horizon Award Winner.


USD 261 Celebrates Another Blue Ribbon School!

Ruth Clark Elementary 2017 National Blue Ribbon School Award

Haysville USD 261’s Ruth Clark Elementary School was named one of 342 National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017 by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

Ruth Clark Elementary is the third school in the Haysville District to receive a National Blue Ribbon School Award. Ruth Clark Elementary School was recognized as an Exemplary High Performing School. Haysville USD 261’s Campus High School was named a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School and Oatville Elementary School was named a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School.

USD 261 - Progress as Promised!

Campus Natatorium Ribbon Cutting

Ribbon cutting for the new Campus High School Natatorium occured on September 12th, 2018. The new indoor pool has eight 25-yard lanes which is double the amount of lanes in the old natatorium. Having the additional lanes allows swimmers and divers the ability to practice simultaneously. The new natatorium was approved as part of a $59 million bond issue that was voted on in June of 2015. Visit the Bond Construction page for more updates....

WSU Tech Haysville Ribbon Cutting

The WSU Tech Haysville ribbon cutting occured on September 28th, 2018. WSU Haysville started its operation on July 1, 2018 and is located at 106 Stewart Avenue, Haysville KS 67060. They offer general education courses along with classes in sign language, advanced social science and HVAC. This is a collaborating effort between WSU Tech, the City of Haysville and USD261 to provide higher education learning opportunities to the residents of Haysville and the surrounding communities.

District Nominees for Kansas Teacher of the Year

Haysville USD 261 Kansas Teacher of the Year nominees, Campus High School’s Zac Kliewer and Ruth Clark Elementary School’s Caleb McCaffree, were recognized by (from left) Kevin Watt, Senior Vice President and Director of Specialty Market Sales and Distribution Operations at Security Benefit; Dr. Randy Watson, Kansas Commissioner of Education; and Dale M. Dennis Deputy Commissioner, Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services.

Zac Kliewer Kansas Teacher of Year

Zac Kliewer (third from left)

Caleb McCaffree Kansas Teacher of Year

Caleb McCaffree (third from left)